We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay there every year for the last two years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We were tired of paying high prices for a hotel room we spent very little time in, so we tried Ho Jo's. The bottom line is this....the rooms are very clean and comfortable, we had a fridge and microwave, the staff is very friendly and attentive to your needs, the pool is great and well maintained with comfortable shaded table areas, the breakfast includes hard boiled eggs, cereal, make your own waffles, bagels, danish and toast, apples and bananas, oatmeal, coffee, and soft drinks. We booked online got a great price and will continue to stay there year after year. Its also an hour from orlando and daytona. Thanks HJ, The Forville family

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foolbus1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you Forville family for your amazing review of our Howard Johnson Ocala and for staying with us! We are so glad that you decided to give us a try. As you said, we offer all of the necessities at a significantly lower price. If you are not looking for something fancy, then we can certainly provide a clean, comfortable room with amenities like free wi-fi, free breakfast, and a large heated pool all for a fraction of what you would pay at one of our competitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,374 - 1,380 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

Our stay included breakfast with our stay. Most the time everyone just goes about their own way without even knowing anything about the person your sitting next to. Our hostess Renee made sure to make contact with everyone in the restaurant. She made you feel like a friend. By the time our stay was up we left a friend and would be back. Thanks for taking time to try to get to know strangers and making them feel at home.

Room Tip: don't get one by the pool unless you like late parties.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb60786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida and taking time to write and post a review on Trip Advisor. At Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida our dedicated team of hospitality professionals have one goal-giving each one of our special guests the best possible service and overnight accommodations for the money they spend. It is very important to us that each one of our guests feel that they received great value for every dollar they spent at our hotel. In addition to loving our rooms, our huge outdoor heated pool, our huge outdoor Jacuzzi, our guests love our complimentary breakfast served every morning. Renee and our other breakfast attendants make sure each one of our guest leaves the breakfast full and happy. See you soon at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We needed a place to stop overnight on our way south. Trip Advisor reviews said this place was clean, friendly, and inexpensive, which fit our bill. We pulled in about 7 p.m., and the oft-mentioned Cedric was at the desk. I said, "You're Cedric. I've heard great things about you!" A man standing next to him with no name tag on said, "What about me? Have you heard good things about me?" I told him I couldn't see his name, and he said it was Carlos. I replied, "I've heard great things about you too!" And everything I read on Trip Advisor was true. These guys were GREAT! They were so friendly and so helpful! I have never encountered desk staff at any hotel that was as nice as these guys. No kidding.

We checked in easily and found our room, while older, to be clean and comfortable. We needed a roll-away for our son, and it arrived right away with a bunch of extra towels for him.

That night, we went in town for dinner and enjoyed a good Cuban-inspired restaurant. Sorry I can't remember the name. We would have eaten in the in-house restaurant, but we have some vegetarians in our group, and this was more of a diner-type place.

When we came back, we hit the putt-putt course on-site. It is in dire need of a face-lift, but we had a really fun time hamming it up on the greens. We played until past dark and it was a great way to unwind after 12 hours on the road.

Breakfast the next morning was good. Lots of choices for my picky kids. They always love the make your own waffles. The morning staff was just as friendly as the night folks.

I think this hotel will be a regular stop-over for our family on our trips to Florida. It's not fancy, but it was friendly and a great value.

Room Tip: Call directly. Ask for Carlos or Cedric.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyderbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida and taking time to write and post a review on Trip Advisor. Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is Ocala’s most famous hotel and offers all our guests great value. Our guests enjoy a clean and comfortable room with free amenities such as free wireless high speed internet and a full cable line up with HBO and all the sports channels. Our huge outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi are also big hits with our guests. Carlos and Cedric, with the rest of the Howard Johnson team, know Ocala very well. Howard Johnson Inn Ocala is only minutes from downtown Ocala and its many restaurants and bars. See you soon at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We booked 2 double queen rooms that had a connecting door inside. I was so happy that i did take the reviews w a grain of salt because it was a great deal, great facility, and the staff was unbelievable. I even got a price reduction after seeing the online prices went down closer to our check in date. The rooms all had micro, mini fridge, lots of pillows, compfy beds, free hbo, nice pool & hottub, and lots of towels. The free breakfast was good, fresh banannas and apples, apple and oj, cereal station, belgin waffle station, beagles, pastries, toast, hard boiled eggs. they also served dinner at the resturaunt from 5-9. My husband and i were in town for a birthday party and had 5 kids to entertain the hotel location, amenities, and staff made it that much easier. What made it even sweeter was when i went to check out the owner was at the front desk and was eager to find out how our stay went and offered cold drinks for the trip home...... Well worth every penny. BOOK IT! Ps... they were replacing the carpet while we were there (the existing carpet wasnt that bad in my eyes).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bustersball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your glowing review of our Howard Johnson Ocala. Although we are not the Hilton, we do pride ourselves on our great customer service and quality. Occasionally we do get a poor review and we will try to reach out to these guests to find out what problems they experienced and how to fix them, however, most of the guests that stay with us agree that our HoJos is a great place to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

carlos went out of his way to accomodate our needs and never made us feel we were asking too much. He also never made us feel like we were playing let's make a deal. He gave us convenient location and an extra foldaway bed for my son at a very fair price.Carlos also responded in a very timely manner to bring us some extra towels and pillows which surely makes one feel at home. The continental breakfast was nice. On top of all of that and very importantly, everything was clean, sterile and fresh and smelled good. I can't say enough about your cleaning staff!!! They are top notch and only equalled one other motel of our 7 night total stays. We only repeated stay at your motel. I think it was jenny who cleaned our room and found out from staff she also cleans for the owner! That didn't surprise me a bit. Clean is an understatement of how excellent the quality of the cleanliness was, and even under the beds... spotless!!!!Bravo to all of your most excellent staff at Howard Johnson Inn at Ocala, Florida!!!!!!!!! Sincerely, gratefully, The Dodge Family of Five... Doreen, Bill, Celia, Jess, and Jen P.S. The kids loved it too!!!

Room Tip: All rooms r extremely clean,comfy,affordable.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDodgeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida and taking time to write and post a review on Trip Advisor. The housekeeping and maintenance team at Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida make sure that “everything [in our guest’s room is] is clean, sterile and fresh” and “smells good.” As you point out we make sure that each one of our guest’s feels that they are getting value for every dollar they spend at our hotel. Along this line, Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is close to Ocala’s natural fresh water springs. Ocala fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Alexander Springs, Juniper Springs, Salts Springs and Rainbow Springs) offer great value for families looking to take an eco-friendly family vacation. Individual entrance prices to these state parks is less than $5 a person. Within these parks, one can swim, snorkel and canoe in these natural fresh water springs. Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is also in close proximity to the Ocala National Forest. There a numerous hiking and bird watching areas within the Ocala National Forest. Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida’s affordable lodging prices(includes a complimentary breakfast) coupled with its close proximity to Marion County’s eco-friendly destinations offer a great and affordable family vacation to any family on a budget.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Renee was very pleasent and helpful. I had a great stay in ocala, thanks hojo.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dpreisel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJoOcala, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2011

Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida and taking time to write and post a review on Trip Advisor. Our dedicated hospitality team truly believes that Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is Ocala’s most famous hotel and is fully empowered to do whatever it takes to make sure each one of our guest’s has a great stay at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida. Renee puts out our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast out each morning. All our guests love the wide assortment of breakfast foods available complimentary every morning. At Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida we truly believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Hope to see you soon at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Renee and Earl was the best part of my stay here Renee takes care of the breakfast buffeet and really keeps on top of things there with so many people. Earl took me back and forth to where my trk was in the shop and showed me places around not to far to walk to if need be this was great! Thank you to you both.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristie9902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Kristie, thank you so much for your review of our Howard Johnson Ocala! We are truly lucky to have such a wonderful breakfast server as Renee and staff like Earl who will go above and beyond. Thank you for telling others of your great experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
4.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#5 of 34 in Ocala
337 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ocala
Red Roof Inn Ocala
#7 of 34 in Ocala
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Ocala Conference Center
13.0 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL

Address: 3951 NW Blitchton Rd, I-75 exit 354, Ocala, FL 34475-6765
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ocala
#2 Green Hotel in Ocala
#12 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range: $54 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering happiness and value, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida hotel is situated with easy access from I-75 and 4 Miles from Downtown Ocala, Florida Horse Capital of the World. Kick off your day with a free breakfast including Belgian waffles and free WiFi. With 125 rooms located on 10 acres of land, this Ocala, Florida hotel is ideal for families traveling with RV rentals, and includes ample RV and boat parking on-site. This green-certified Ocala, Florida hotel is situated within minutes from the Post Time Horse Farm, home of the annual Horse Shows in the Sun - HITS - Ocala event each winter. As the recipient of Howard Johnson's Best Practices of the Year Award for 2010, the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida is dedicated to providing travelers the best combination of cheerful hospitality and convenience with a great value. Find all that this Ocala hotel has to offer within minutes of top attractions including Silver Springs State Park, Wild Waters Water Park, Florida State Fire College, Ocala Rotary Sportsplex, Big Sun Youth Soccer League, Shocker Park Softball Complex, Ocala Breeders Sales and the beautiful fresh water springs (Silver Springs, Salt Springs, Juniper Springs, Alexander Springs, Silver Glen Springs and Rainbow Springs) of the Ocala National Forest. Fun and convenience are a standard at the Howard Johnson Inn Ocala, Florida with the areas largest outdoor heated pool, poolside cabanas and a relaxing Jacuzzi. In and around this Ocala, Florida hotel you will enjoy a complimentary Rise and Dine Breakfast along with on-site miniature golf, meeting and banquet facilities, and our on-site Howard Johnson's Restaurant.No matter what kind of traveler you are, the Howard Johnson Inn in Ocala, Florida hotel provides the ideal location and incredible value you have been searching for. Go Happy. Go HOJO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Hotel Ocala
Howard Johnson Ocala
Ocala Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing