We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ipanema Brazilian Steakhouse

Ipanema Brazilian Steakhouse
Ranked #33 of 474 Restaurants in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 17th and 441 (Pine Ave)
Description: Ipanema Brazilian Steak House is a Churrascaria in the finest sense of the word. Our twelve authentic cuts and presentations of meat are seasoned with salt and roasted rotisserie-style over mineral coals imported from Brazil, basted continuously by their own natural juices. Served by traditional roving Gauchos, they are complemented by an opulent salad and vegetable bar, delectable desserts and delicious wines, beer, and cocktails.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Not worth the money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The atmosphere was pleasant and the service was very attentive, but the food was over salted and many of the cuts were tough, seeming to be lower grade. The format is a combination of table and self service; you first acquire your salad and sides and wait for the meat to show up. In our case, we were finished with our sides before the first selection of meat came around. The prime rib was very fatty, chicken dry and tough, lamb was a bit strong, filet was okay, but the cinnamon pineapple was was the highlight of the meal. For the same money ($41.95 pp), you are better off at Ruth's Chris.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    58
    28
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
290 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wonderful meats!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Everything about this restaurant was first class. Both the food and service were very good. Their meat is better than any Brazilian Steakhouse we have eaten at, and should not be missed! The salad bar had a nice selection, even including peel and eat shrimp. They also offered tomato soup the night we were there which was delicious. In addition, they had rice and beans, mashed potatoes and gravy, and beef stroganoff. Do not miss tasting the pineapple here. It was great. We even had a table with a view into the kitchen which was nice, and would probably be entertaining for small children. This is definitely a must eat at place if in the area,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flalove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“WANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My first Brazilian Steakhouse, and (except for the other customers) it was absolutely fan-bloomin'-tasatic!
I have read some reviews, and seen one or two people complain about salt. Well, it's part of the cooking process, not part of the seasoning. The meats were fantastic! So was the salad bar, but this is a steakhouse! Do hit up the salad bar - it's not your standard Ruby Tuesday's fare, but leave room for the meat and the pineapple.
Yes, pineapple. Grilled pineapple. With cinnamon. And the usual bread that restaurants do for free has quick fried cinnamon bananas! I am not a banana person, but those things were great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Stuff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We enjoy Texas de Brazil (Orlando and Detroit) but have never tried another Brazilian steakhouse. Until last week. This place is a gem. The service is exceptional and very accommodating. The ambience is fantastic. The food itself is all excellent. Some would note that the meats are a bit salty, but that's part of the deal, so deal with it. We tried about 13 varieties of meat, as well as excellent mac n cheese, mashed potatoes, grilled pineapple, 3 types of bread, soup, and fried bananas. Everything was worth trying and more. Go hungry, leave very fat and happy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LawyerJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabian G, Owner at Ipanema Brazilian Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Such kind words! We're so glad you enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More than just delicious meat !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I have dined at Ipanema only a handful of times and always thought of it as a place to have a big elaborate dinner;however, I came and just had a few cocktails at the bar .Everyone was so friendly ! The hostess was so helpful and lovely . Go for just the salad and pineapple martinis , enjoy the atmosphere !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldtourIST07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabian G, Owner at Ipanema Brazilian Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you! Very glad you enjoyed. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ipanema Brazilian Steakhouse also viewed

 
Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Ipanema Brazilian Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing