We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel, Terrible Staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, Terrible Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed at the Sleep Inn on our way down to Ft. Lauderdale from Atlanta. The hotel overall is clean and appeared to just have been remodeled. Although they could use some more sound proofing around their doors.

My only complaint was the staff. We arrived rather late and tired. When we went to check in the first lady just ignored us for a few minutes before yelling to the other girl to come out and help us. She then came out talking about having to pee and cursing. Not really a good first impression. I had prepaid for the room so I assumed check in would be very easy and smooth. This however was not the case. They seemed to be having some sort of computer issue where she could not get the piece of paper I had to sign to print. This resulted in the two staff members yelling back and forth between the counter and the office for a few minutes before they figured it out while ignoring us. Overall it was just terrible customer service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prim8Keeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review, however, I think you have our hotel mixed up with another. You speak about front desk attendants yelling back and forth between the desk and an office. However, at our hotel, the office is an extension of the desk and is open to the lobby. These areas are less than 10 feet from one another. Also, we have a strict policy regarding profanity. Any guest caught swearing in front of a guest would be either fired or suspended as this is never acceptable on hotel grounds. I will, however, have our General Manager question the staff and see if this situation sounds familiar to any staff members. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    120
    21
    4
    6
See reviews for
150
109
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Haven, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed over one night. Room very clean and beds very comfortable. The room is equipped with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The staff was very friendly especially the lady in the breakfast room!! We had made a special room request and they were very accommodating. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Forbsey24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your very nice review of our Sleep Inn & Suites of Ocala-Belleview! We are so pleased that our staff could accommodate your special request and make you comfortable during your stay with us. We will always try to honor special requests such as higher floors, away from elevators, extra pillows, etc. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed overnight while in route to Florida Everglades on fishing trip with wife. Room was clean and the bed was fine, all for a reasonably low price for this area. Staff was welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was about par for price range of hotel.

Room Tip: Good location if visiting Don Gartlet's Drag Racing Museum
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwellinghurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for staying at our Sleep Inn and Suites of Ocala & Belleview during your recent trip to the Everglades. Because we are located right on I-75, we are the perfect place to stop on your journey to Disney, Tampa, Clearwater Beach or any number of other Florida destinations. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Every so often you run into a business that really gets things right. A place where you feel that, as a customer, you are important. That was our experience at the Ocala (or Bellevue) Sleep Inn, a hotel that we will certainly return to.

By contrast, the previous evening we stayed at the Sleep Inn at Fort Mill, S.C. Had that been our first experience with the chain, it would probably have been our last. But let's not go there, let's accentuate the positive,

Friendly service, clean rooms, excellent selection for breakfast with a cheerful staff - it all adds up to a winning formula. We'd love to find more hotels at this level.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niagarafallsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much. You are right when you say that our Sleep Inn & Suites of Ocala-Belleview is better than most. We are actually a Platinum Award -winning hotel which means that we place in the top 5% of the Sleep Inn Brand. We work hard to maintain this level of service and cleanliness and are very pleased that it showed during your stay with us. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We attended a dog show at the park and this hotel was a perfect location. The hotel itself is very clean. Staff friendly. Huge rooms. Yummy breakfast. Will definitely return. Thanks for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much Karen! Many people do not know that our Sleep Inn and Suites is the closest hotel to the Florida Horse Park, a venue that hosts everything from obstacle courses and dog shows to equine championship competitions. Thank you again for telling others about our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay!!! The breakfast offered a lot of variety and the lady overseeing the breakfast area was very attentive and quick to offer assistance!!! The weekend rates are about 50% more than week nights but seems to be pretty common in the area.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBH4387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Sleep Inn and Suites of Ocala and Belleview. Our hotel is located about 10 minutes drive south of Ocala proper, however, our address is in Ocala. We are on the Belleview exit and as you mentioned, we are within 100 yards of several restaurants including a Zaxby's Chicken, a Sonny's BBQ, and a Dunkin' Donuts. Thank you again for telling others about our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Note this is not really in Ocala - but in Belleview a good few miles south of Ocala. Its next door to the Drag Racing Museum. Good size rooms (actually very large - we felt as if we could get lost at night) - staff very helpful especially the server at breakfast. Small heated pool with a few sun beds. A variety of chain restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Refuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becky S, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel! We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and our spacious rooms. Although we are closer to Belleview, our hotel has an Ocala address which is confusing to some. However, we are just one exit south of Ocala proper and drive time is only about 10 minutes to the many businesses located on highway 200. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocala
13.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
12.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
8.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
Address: 13600 SW 17th Ct, Ocala, FL 34473-9034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Ocala
#4 Family Hotel in Ocala
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocala
#8 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview is conveniently located off of I-75 (exit # 341) and Highway 484. This Green Certified and Gold Award winning hotel is situated adjacent to the Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing. Local area attractions include Ocala Equestrian Center, Florida Greenways, Florida Horse Park, Florida Horse and Carriage Museum, Rainbow Springs, KP hole, and Belleview Santos Bike Trail. This hotel is also in close proximity to Belleview, Marion Oaks, Summer Glen and Dunnellon. This smoke-free hotel offers a free daily deluxe continental breakfast. The Sleep Inn also offers free wired and wireless internet throughout the hotel, fitness center (treadmill, elliptical and bike), free weekday Wall Street Journal newspaper, outdoor heated pool, business center, and guest laundry. All Guest rooms feature HBO/ESPN/CNN, irons, ironing boards, hairdryers, coffeemakers, refrigerators, and microwaves. Designated pet friendly rooms are also available upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites Ocala - Belleview
Sleep Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview Hotel Ocala
Sleep Inn Ocala
Sleep Inn Hotel Ocala
Ocala Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing