We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden Palms Inn & Suites
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“I can't recommend”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This place was probably a 1950's Holiday Inn (based on design and layout)..............now it is a poor excuse for a place to be called an inn, We paid $139.00 for a room that was the equivalent of some $30.00 a night places we have stayed at.

Why did we pay that much and stay there??? We had been on the road for a long day and had checked several places only to find them full.......our choice was to take what was available or continue stopping at places that were full. We now know why this place had rooms available.

I inquired about a ground level room when checking in.......I was told that I could be "upgraded" for an additional $10.00!!!

And, their "breakfast" was deplorable............my wife peeled a hard-boiled egg and I would not let her eat it.............the egg was shades of light brown and yellow. The coffee was terrible...........we quickly gave up and moved on.

Upon checkout I commented to the manager about the price ................his response was that it was due to the "time of the year"................what a dishonest, gouging, place this is in our opinions.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gold-vintner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    34
    11
    16
    72
See reviews for
59
38
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night and will never ever stay again. We expected a room that was worth the $90 we were extremely disappointed. The room smelled like crap! I took one of the pillow cases off and was grossed out with the slobber and God knows what else stains on the pillow protector. There were cracks in the walls and all around the bottom of the bathroom wall, the towels were old and scratchy and not enough towels. The bedding is old and gross, the beds and pillows are old and gross. I was petrified to look under the sheets. To top it all off there was no inside privacy lock on the door and in the morning the cleaning lady walked in me and I had just gotten out of the shower,(she did knock and I said "We are still here!", but I guess she didn't hear me!!), all I could do was cover what I could and my face with embarrassment. That was very upsetting. I didn't complain at the front desk because I was so embarrassed. Point blank the worst experience of my life. Don't let the front of this establishment fool you it was no better than one of those shady $29.99 rooms!!!! Disgusted,Disappointed and Embarrassed!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jleebeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocala hotels

Blairstown, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Got here took the upgrade which ment a flat screen tv. Pool was full of dirt. They had a tiki bar that hasn't been used in years. Breakfast was stale donuts or English muffins. Staff was pleasent but for $99 plus tax we could have stayed at the Hampton inn. If they put some time into maintaing they property it could be as they advertise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highsierra35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were passing through Ocala headed to South FL from Tallahassee after a late start and decided to crash. Somehow every hotel in the city was booked solid. Hampton Inn folks recommended this hotel. Because of their availability and our previous experiences with hotels we totally expected it to be a dump. We were very surprised to find that this is a great hotel. Our room was very clean, the bed very comfortable and an excellent shower with great pressure. I found the staff to be extremely courteous and helpful and the rates were very reasonable. Would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernHabitats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. The people were very friendly and helpful.
The room are very clean and well kept.
I would return to this hotel with out any hesitation rather it was a vacation or business trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Very Nice Room, Great Service. The Place to stay if in Ocala. 45.99 a night didn't hurt either. Clean and Comfortable. Any time I come back to Ocala I will stay here. May upgrade to the Jacuzzi suite next.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbyclovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel is wonderful ! I was given a cozy, quiet room, with a fireplace and flat screen TV both on/in the wall. The decor was charming and the bed was comfortable and clean. They even served real cream and real butter at the continental breakfast, which I always appreciate when travelling. The staff was friendly and helpful. I felt well taken care of. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
0.2 mi away
Motel 6 Ocala Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#5 of 34 in Ocala
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Ocala
Quality Inn Ocala
#15 of 34 in Ocala
237 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shamrock Historic Inn
Shamrock Historic Inn
#18 of 34 in Ocala
83 reviews
3.9 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Palms Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Palms Inn & Suites

Property: Golden Palms Inn & Suites
Address: 3767 NW Blitchton Rd, Ocala, FL 34475-4635 (Formerly Payless Inn and Suites)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Golden Palms Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Palms Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Palms Inn And Suites
Golden Palms Hotel Ocala
Golden Palms Ocala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing