We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida friendliness” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silver Springs Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Silver Springs Motel
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Ocala
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old Florida friendliness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a budget clean room and comfortable bed near Silver Springs Park--we found it here. This spacious efficiency wasn't fancy but it served our purposes and we were able to prepare our own meals, saving us even more. Great service, pretty plants, a handsome parrot named Vinny. We would stay there again.
Thanks!
Robert & Lynn, Tallahassee

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyvisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
2
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

I saw the Silver Springs Motel the last time I was in Ocala. It has a name that sticks so I remembered it this time. It is a family owned and run. I was checked in by a very nice woman named Mollie. She said she had something for my "scrapbook" and I was given a postcard of the motel from 1974 that was in an unopened box they had just found! Her son, Robert also runs it. There are very nice and welcoming. The rates are very reasonable and it is loaded with Old Florida charm and character. There is decorative wrought iron on the outside. There are chairs and tables in front of the rooms and a few guests sat out and in the evening. My room had cool retro furniture and a beautiful terrazzo floor. It even had a retro fridge! It reminded me of places my family would stay on vacation in Florida during my childhood. It was updated where it counts like WIFI and a newer TV. It was also very clean. It's less than 2 miles from Silver Springs Park and there are plenty of restaurants, stores and anything you need within walking distance. If you don't like chain hotels or just want something with a homey atmosphere run by very nice people, it's your place. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

OK, I will admit I'm a bit of a hotel snob, travelling a ton for business and usually staying in predictable, up scale chain hotels. So when we arrived at the Silver Springs I had some misgivings. Hotel guests were actually sitting outside their rooms enjoying the night air! We actually had to interact with other guests while schlepping our luggage up the stairs to get to one of the remodeled rooms - oh my! But it also made me realize what we've been missing. The SS Inn is really an amazing place. 1) A family owned business going back to the 50's. 2) Real poured terrazzo floors - beautiful! 3) Little bright-colored-tile 50's bathrooms! 4) Close to the historic Silver Springs and an amazing number of other parks, springs, rivers, lakes, forests

Robert came back from California to take over running the place when his mother couldn't anymore. He has updated some of the rooms and you just want to see him succeed! We'll definitely be back. Next time in Ocala, please give it a try!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

smells a little funny (farm like), nice old lady at the desk. doorlock needs some practice before you can open or close it. little notice; ocala has nothing much to offer, so why go there...
Gail was very nice and helpfull

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevintje80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mollie H, Manager at Silver Springs Motel, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
I am sorry for this experience. But since this time our family has again taken over this wonderful historic motel. One or the other of our family is constantly on site to ensure your satisfaction and safety. We have labored consistently to renovate rooms and make your experience with us pleasant and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocala
0.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites
WoodSpring Suites
#23 of 35 in Ocala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Silver Springs/Ocala East
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Ocala - Silver Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Motel 6 Ocala Conference Center
3.9 mi away
Shamrock Inn
Shamrock Inn
#19 of 35 in Ocala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
6.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Springs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Springs Motel

Property: Silver Springs Motel
Address: 4121 E Silver Springs Blvd, Ocala, FL 34470-5082
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated family-owned historic Florida motel. New management as of Feb. 2013. Original all-tile bathrooms with Italian terrazzo floors. Large clean rooms with refrigerator and microwave. Large refreshing swimming pool. Minutes from World Famous Silver Springs with glass-bottom boats. A variety of restaurants, shopping, and museum within walking distance. Brief vacations or long stays. All are welcome. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing