We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokin Sauce!”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #55 of 482 Restaurants in Ocala
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
168 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Smokin Sauce!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This BBQ is for real! The pulled pork was pit smoked and had multiple choices of BBQ sauces.
One in particular, Smokin Sauce had the right heat and smoke for an incredibly delicious sauce.
I bought a bottle to take home. The pulled pork plate had corn bread and a baked sweet potato to add to the great lunch, with a Yuenling beer on tap.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyS181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    47
    33
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
854 reviews
665 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Okay, it's a chain, BUT holds it's own against the others!”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stopped in for a quick lunch with friends while out on the road. A last minute decision, but confident that the food is good, and we LOVE that "just a touch" of smoky flavor. We were not disappointed at all, HUGE glasses of iced tea delivered quickly - orders taken just as quickly. And food coming out of the kitchen just about as fast! Cole Slaw, very good, quarter of chicken, lightly smoked, moist, very flavorful - oh, darn I'm drooling again! Wife had pulled pork sandwich (now, she not a lover of BBQ) so imaging my surprise, when she wanted to know why we come here more often? The meal was a huge hit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful take out, great food”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This place is amazing for how much care they take in prep for take out, the food is wonderful, they pack it wonderfully, make sure they pack sauces and silverware, plenty of napkins etc. The people are great and you can tell they care about doing their jobs well.I picked up food on the way to work, told them it could get cold as it wasn't going to be eaten until the middle of the night, they packed things so it could be easily heated later. Will definately go back !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angelndskys12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicopee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WORST FOOD EVER”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Went there because of the raving. it was awful. Service was fine and it is not the waitress fault. the bbq was dryed out. the meals were like last weeks. we had a party of 6 and everyone complained. there was not juice to any of the meat. even with lathing of sauces it was awful. the owner/manager, who we were told is not usually there was. he come to our table and we told him. his 1st words were did you tell the waitress...yes. da that is why you are here. he took a whole $10.00 off our 120.00 check. we left plates of food and not one took any home. it was such a wasteful meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richardsl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Richardsl4, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Please let us help! Send us an email at Social@SonnysBBQ.com with these details, including the location, so that we can address the issues you had encountered. We would greatly appreciate your feedback and hope that you can give us a chance to make it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Fl
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Bar-B-Q”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

i love sonnys. Always stop here when I stay at Microtel.
Hot fries, great Bar-B-Q.
good variety. I've never been disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiDi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
DiDi54, thank you for the great 5 star review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our BBQ. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 
Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing