We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great pulled pork”
Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #50 of 483 Restaurants in Ocala
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Prudenville, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great pulled pork”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

food was great and reasonably priced. Within walking distance of our hotel. Friendly staff. After a long day on the road ready for good food and atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dorothyw584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    47
    33
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What going on with sonnys it's not good like it was and I'm not Happy”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have been eating BBQ at sonnys over 30 year and would called one of the best place to eat in the USA but now I would not say that to be true it home bad first the beef the BBQ beef I was yummy I round now it's dry out br

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigguylikefood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
We are sorry to hear your recent experience, @Bigguylikefood. Please email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com so that we can better address the issues you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious, great value and great service”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I enjoyed the delicious barbecue. I was impressed with how fresh the wings were-we got them as an appetizer. They were meaty, hot and very flavorful. My daughter loved her ribs. I got the Pulled pork Big Deal. It was delicious. The portion was a nice size. Our waitress was Ashley. She was very attentive to our needs. I enjoy the atmosphere of this Sonny's and will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Songbird9374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Mouth watering BBQ ribs.”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Two things that stand out are the baby backed ribs and the corn bread. The flavor on the ribs hits the spot, the baby backed are very tender, and the corn bread moist and tasty. I find the half rack of ribs hard to beat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4cents-worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Huge drinks mediocre taste”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have never seen drinks bigger than the ones they give you here. Maybe it is so your waitress doesn't have to return as often. Considering that our waitress screwed up just about everything about our orders it is understandable that you wouldn't want her hanging around.

The wings were okay, nothing special and the salad bar is over priced for what it is. My husband had the BBQ and thought it was okay. The sauces are pretty interesting.

This is not ever going to be my favorite restaurant however, with all you can eat wings on Tuesdays I might just return for that and try a different flavor. This is a place where quantity wins over quality.

Just an example of how our waitress screwed up, when we left she asked if we wanted drinks to go. I said yes and my unsweetened tea became sweetened. Unacceptable. Luckily I noticed before we left the parking lot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonnysBBQ, Public Relations Manager at Sonny's BBQ, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations, @Zabelle. Please email us at Social@SonnysBBQ.com so that we can better address the issues you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 
Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 
Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing