We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come Hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonny's BBQ

Sonny's BBQ
Ranked #60 of 477 Restaurants in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In 1968, we were just a local BBQ joint in Gainesville, Florida. Today, we're still a local BBQ joint. We just happen to be in a few more locations. But we still do things the same way Floyd "Sonny" Tillman and his wife, Lucille, did back then. We still slow-smoke over oak for up to 12 hours at a time. We still serve generous portions. And we still believe people should be able to go out to eat and feel right at home.
Crescent
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Come Hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was a great place to eat. The food was very good and service was also very good. If you go away hungry it has to be your own fault. My BF had the all you can eat ribs and I had the ribs and chicken. Sweet tea was also very good and was so nice to have a fresh cup to go before we left.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    44
    33
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
260 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and reliable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is not a bad choice for a satisfying meal pretty much anywhere in FL or GA. Food comes out fast, but seems not made to order. That is just fine for the low cost. Generous amounts of tea!

This location in Ocala had friendly and quick service. We were in and out in half an hour.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iliketrdls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a great little restaurant that offers a salad bar buffet which I really enjoyed. It makes for a nice meal choice along with some sliced brisket. I loved the choices of sauces.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiamiBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Gloucester, Maine
Level Contributor
113 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not a rib joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I usually order a pork sandwich when I visit Sonnys. This time I was enticed by the all you can eat rib special. The ribs were St Louis style, lean and meaty but somewhat tasteless. I guess that's what the sauce on the table is for, but I think you miss something when you don't infuse flavor as you cook the meat. I will go back but not for the ribs.

Helpful?
Thank Sabbathday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
185 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stopped in here for dinner and had the pork 3 ways and the largest glass of sweet tea I have ever seen. The service was good along with the pork which I had a hard time finishing along with the 2 sides and cormbread I got along with it. Shame we don't have Sonny's up north, I make a habit of stopping at least in one when I am down south.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's BBQ also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 
Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Sonny's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing