We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My husband was in HEAVEN!!!”

Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing
Ranked #3 of 61 things to do in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Roland, Arkansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My husband was in HEAVEN!!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

There are so many cars and so much history here that you CAN NOT rush through it!! Very well preserved and displayed!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    88
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocklawaha, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went there during Daytona Bike Week. Great Place, with Cars, Drag racing history and all Don Garlits old drag cars.It is a must see for ALL Gearheads. Great collections of old cars too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richlo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNNELLON
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Graet Car Show!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I had a blast at their out door car show all different styles types and everything, Friendly people good hot dogs, but I thought the entry fee was a little to pricey..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TABATHA Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford Springs, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Interesting Time”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband is the real fan, but I found enough to keep me interested too. Well organized and full of interesting tidbits throughout. We spent about 2 hours there. Don Garlits was actually there - working in the office - not greeting guests - and my husband was thrilled to see him in person again. If you are a car fan and especially a drag race fan you should go. You will enjoy it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Get There Early!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Outstanding history of drag racing displaying the actual cars that shows the development and innovations that occurred in the early years of the sport. You won't find anything like this museum elsewhere in the world. Impossible to really see everything in one day. I was a freelance drag photographer in the sixties and have photographs of many of the cars in Don's museum. That being said, my only complaint is that the displays are too close together to get decent photos. Take your camera anyway. You will probably find details in your photos that you missed in your visit. I did. Get there when it opens for the best chance of getting photos before the crowds arrive.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rgarramone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing