We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Despite prior bad reviews, and response from the hotel that they would do better, it doesn't look like much has changed. When we arrived, we waited more than 10 minutes for someone to show up at the front desk. The entire main floor reeked of chlorine from the indoor pool. Then it got worse. The elevator smelled like someone had dropped an entire bottle of PineSol, and our room on the 5th floor smelled like an awful combination of chlorine and PineSol. We walked around the different floors, and the smell was everywhere - there was no escape, and by the 3rd day, we woke up with headaches and raw throats. When we got home, the smell came with us because it permeated our packed clothing.
Maid service was also terrible. We made the mistake of leaving a nice tip each morning, as many experts now recommend. Unfortunately, she took the money, but never properly cleaned our room. We had to clean out the coffee pot ourselves each morning, and sweep up the hair on the floor in the bathroom. The bed was made, but the floor was never vacuumed. [Not much different with the dirty carpet by the elevator] We finally decided not to leave any tip the last morning. While the bed was comfortable, the smells were so intrusive that we had trouble sleeping.

Room Tip: We can't recommend this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

We are deeply troubled to hear that your experience with us was not at all a pleasant one. We are currently doing thorough cleaning in the areas which have been deemed unsatisfactory by guests, that is why we apologize if the smell of cleaning products have become overpowering during your stay with us. Please know that we will meticulously check the concerns you raised so that we may impose prompt corrective measures. Rest assured that your reviews pertaining to the housekeeping department on matters of cleanliness will not go unnoticed. We hope that we may be able to change your perception of our hotel in the future should you reconsider and stay with us again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 559 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Beware...

I think there are many things to consider in judging lodging and I think number one has to be cleanliness...

and in that, this place failed as bad as I've seen in a decade. Bathroom door had something bad splattered on the inside, Linens had stains, bed ruffle had something spilled on it, carpet was badly stained with something 'red', but worst of all was the smell...just terrible...musty and moldy and although it's supposed to be smoke-free, it smelled like smoke...and so did the towels.

God forbid you get up-close to the A/C- Heating unit..that is where the smell is coming from.

Ugh nasty. We had a tough night of sleeping here.

And yes, the room is noisy because it's close to I-75 but I can't hold that against them...My eyes told me where the place was...

And add to that that the Men's room on the main floor near the front desk was 'unusable' due a back up of nastiness...don't they have people to keep an eye on that kinda stuff?

You would never know how much of a 'fail' this place was from the outside.

Beware.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimfromDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for reaching out to us through this review. We are sincerely grateful for the fact that you made an effort to ensure that we are aware of our shortcomings. The displeasure you felt with regards to your overall experience is most troubling, and we wish to sincerely apologize for what you found lacking as well as the inconvenience it has brought you. Please know that we will meticulously handle the situation at hand and correct the deficiencies we find particularly in the maintenance of cleanliness. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve, and we hope that we may be able to change your perception of our hotel by giving you a far better experience next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have stayed here before but are now looking for another hotel that is further away from I-75. With the way this hotel is situated on the property and how close I-75 is, it is very difficult to get away from the traffic noise. The hotel & the rooms are nice, The breakfast, on the other hand, left a lot to be desired, definitely not up to the usual Country Inn standard.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onehappyretiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We wish to let you know that we value your loyalty and your constructive feedback. Thank you for reaching out to us and make us aware of the things we may have overlooked during the time of your visit. It troubles us to hear from you that the services during your last visit were not of your liking. Please know that your feedback means so much to us, for it gives us opportunities to correct our shortcomings and improve on our service in total. We apologize for the incurred disturbance, should you wish to stay with us again, please don’t hesitate to request for a much quieter room as we are more than willing to cater to your needs and find a way to deliver you your room of choice. Thank you for inspiring us to do so much better to give you the best service there is to offer. We hope that we could be of service to you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is our fourth visit to this Hotel, we have family nearby and like to stay somewhere close, the staff have always been very nice to deal with and nothing seems to be a problem, on our most recent visit we had the pleasure of being checked in by Carolyn, she's very efficient, pleasant and the perfect first greeting for any guest, the rooms are always well presented with clean fresh linen and towels, I have read negative reviews of the hotel but my experiences tell a different tale. I have recommended the hotel to friends traveling over from Ireland as it's value for money with easy access to I-75. All told the Hotel isn't the Ritz Carlton but it's a home from home for weary travelers and I will return again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcusoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Your loyalty means so much to us, knowing that we have consistently met your utmost satisfaction over the years is indeed heart-warming. We consider you a part of our family, and we are overjoyed to extend our sincerest service to you. Your visits have always brought a smile to our faces, and the appreciation you gave pertaining to the convenient location, our reliable staff, and the overall comfort you experienced is what we particularly aim for to give to our valued guests. We thank you for always making us your hotel of choice, and we couldn’t wait to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel isn't great but it will get the job done for a night. It is clean the beds are ok and staff is alright. Parking was fine as I guess it wasn't to busy. I did not try breakfast as people say its gross.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

We wish to let you know that your voice is of utmost importance to us, and it means a lot to us to know that you have made an effort to inform us of the things we may need to improve to better our services in total. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and pin pointing the deficiency you found with regards to the served breakfast. Rest assured that such matters will be evaluated accordingly and be given prompt actions so that it may be corrected in the best possible way. Thank you for the opportunity to grow and improve more and we certainly hope to be of service to you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel staff upon arrival was pleasant and check in was good.
Bathroom light was flickering for the first 4 seconds or so. All over the bathroom door was splattered with something... hopefully coffee. Small piece of hair that was definitely not mine, found here and there in the bathroom. The wall where a trash bin was placed had all kind of smears. I would have asked to change rooms if I have not taken shower.
A refrigerator was rocking, and inside of it was dirty.
The room was OK. None of the furniture was coordinated and the couch made unpleasant noise when I sat down. The mattress cover was probably a queen size, trying to cover king size mattress.
My previous experience at this hotel was so much better. It is unfortunate that another hotel has become like one of the motels with a numbers with their names. They might as well lower their price to match those.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neillieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

We sincerely aim to always make the stay of our guests as comfortable and pleasant as possible, which is why it troubles us to hear that we have failed to give you that experience. We wish to let you know that we are indeed very sorry for the inconvenience the entire experience has brought you, especially with the hotel upkeep and the cleanliness in particular. Please know that your voice means a lot to us, and we seriously take all your feedback and evaluate the points we need to do to correct and improve in the delivery of our services. Rest assured that the opportunity you have given us will not go to waste and we will certainly act on such matters to better serve our valued guests. We hope that you reconsider and visit us again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Carolyn at the front desk was very helpful & friendly. The cookies were awesome! The beds were very comfortable after a long trip. Just one small detail that we missed was ice machine on every floor. The continental breakfast was also good

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7lesley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOcala_34474, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

To hear that we have served our valued customer well is indeed heart-warming. Thank you for staying with us, and sharing your wonderful experience to us. It brings us great joy that we have successfully shown you how dedicated we are into serving you. Your positive feedback regarding our reliable staff, the good breakfast, as well as the comfort you felt with the beds is indeed inspiring. Thank you for choosing the Country Inn & Suites Ocala experience, we couldn’t wait to be of service to you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
0.1 mi away
Hilton Ocala
Hilton Ocala
#3 of 34 in Ocala
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
4 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#5 of 34 in Ocala
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala

Address: 3720 SW College Rd, Ocala, FL 34474-4441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range: $91 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Ocala Hotel Ocala
Country Inn And Suites Ocala
Country Inn Ocala
Ocala Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing