We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overran by families with kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Overran by families with kids”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Thought we get a half way quiet hotel. Lots of young families with lots of kids. We wanted to use the hot tub/pool. Full of kids. Came back an hour later, still full of kids. There was another older couple that wanted to use it, they turned around too. Too much noise, no one cared.

Rooms were just ok. No modern flat screen TV. The old tube TV. Location - just off the freeway. You hear traffic all night long. You enter/exit through a gas station.

We asked for handicap accommodations. the young front lady did not care. Rooms were already assigned. At check-out, the older lady was friendly, but appearance - the jacket was sizes too big. Little things do matter.

Free breakfast was nice. Friendly staff there. Free cookies in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalotek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    134
    70
    52
    40
See reviews for
223
107
42
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed here on New Year's Eve as a stopover on the way to Universal Orlando from Tennessee. I chose this hotel because it has an indoor pool, which is very difficult to find in this part of Florida! For the price we paid, I think we got a fair value. $89 plus tax got us access to an indoor pool and hot tub, plus a decent free breakfast. Unfortunately, the pool was much colder than I would have liked, and the hot tub was only lukewarm. However that didn't stop our kids from having a good time. I wasn't too crazy about the cleanliness or lack thereof in our room. The bathroom vent didn't work very well so the bathroom was dripping with moisture after a shower, and it took a loooong time to dry out. My daughter used a towel to dry the bathroom floor, and the towel had black streaks of dirt on it afterward. On a positive note, the breakfast was pretty good (not as good as Holiday Inn Express), and the lady attending the breakfast table was very nice and helpful - she offered to make our "self-service" waffles for us. Overall, our needs were met, but not sure I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommy_needs_RandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Drove up from Sarasota for a convention the next day. Country Inn is shoehorned into the offramp greenspace so that you can stand in their parking lot and count the nosehairs of the folks getting off the interstate. Too close for me. Still, wanting to give them a shot as my experience from the corporation has been positive. I walked in to an empty lobby. And waited. Finally I left, drove to the next street and camped out at the La Quinta. Warm welcome, extra coffee, and a call from the front desk to ensure they had met my expectations. Ole!

Room Tip: West side faces off ramp of I-90 NB.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 277JohnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were traveling up I-75 with my kids. One is 2 and the other is 1. So, we asked for two cribs in our room.

When we arrived, the front desk told us that they only had one crib available. They said this despite an emply hotel parking lot. We had no other choice but to try and sleep with one of the babies in the bed.

It didn't work well. First, we tried to get the 2-year old to sleep in the bed with us; she wouldn't. So, we switched, putting the 2-year old in the crib and the sleeping 1-year old in the bed. The 1-year old woke up and would get back to sleep.

So, my wife tried calling the desk to ask them to double check for another crib. She got put on hold (this was at 11 PM). After sitting on hold for 30 minutes, my wife gave up.

We hardly slept because of the single crib issue. We woke up the next morning to leave and the parking lot was still empty. I guess they really only have one crib for a sizeable hotel.

Other than that, the hotel was okay. I guess it compared to a slightly-dated Holiday Inn. The free breakfast was your typical motel type -- nice to have, but nothing special.

I guess next time we're travelling, we'll pack an extra Pack-and-Play.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with infants, bring your own Pack-and-Play!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country34474, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your recent stay with us. I would love to speak with you more in regards to your concerns please contact me by email or phone at your earliest convenience.

Shanna House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2011

i stay at country in suites all over florida ther nice clean and a whirlpool room isnt very expensive. Get a points membership and you earn free days! I have enough points for 2 free days.

Room Tip: the whirlpool suite is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country34474, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala, responded to this review, May 13, 2011
On behalf of our entire staff I would like to thank you for your great comments in regards to your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon!

Shanna House
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

I had a lengthy stay (nearly 2 weeks) there earlier this month and had time to notice anything and everything. I worked my regular job remotely from my room and went out evenings with friends.

1) the staff is the greatest: friendly and very professional. Front desk staff and manager were awesome, as were housekeeping and breakfast staff.

2) breakfast was great - always enough, served for several hours each morning. and constant fresh coffee and cookies in the lobby.

3) my mini-suite was great all-around: very clean, like-new carpet, and nice bedding. superior working situation in room: free fast wireless, good workstation/desk and perfect chair.

4) yes the parking is a little small and tight. at times we had to use the first row of the adjoining BP station for a place to park our truck. like much of Ocala roads, the road in front of this hotel is split and access from one side to the other entails doing a u-turn. Once you get used to that 'feature' in Ocala then this hotel and the others behind it are just as accessible as anything else. The access on/off I-75 is something I value.

I will stay here again next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwilaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

when i checked in all was ok however i found out that the indoor hot tub was not hot and the jets in tub did not work. i had to go to another hotel to use their hot tub. the parking lot was too small, there were no fresh cookies or fruit in the lobby as advertised, and what made me the maddest was when the cleaning staff throu out my lunch in my room in the in room refridge. i did not check out yet, and they throu out my entire lunch, when i came back to room to eat it, it was gone, i even had the "do not disturb" sign on the door, i then complained to the front desk about it, and they said sorry we thought you were checked out. not good !!!! i then handed them the keys and said now im checking out. and you now owe me money for my good food you throu out. bad experiance do not stay here the holliday inn was alot nicer. and too much traffic noise in room, did not sleep too well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miken9044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ocala hotels
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocala
Comfort Suites Ocala
#4 of 34 in Ocala
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Ocala Park Centre
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Ocala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocala
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocala - Belleview
0.1 mi away
Hilton Ocala
Hilton Ocala
#3 of 34 in Ocala
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala
Address: 3720 SW College Rd, Ocala, FL 34474-4441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Ocala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Ocala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ocala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Ocala Hotel Ocala
Country Inn And Suites Ocala
Country Inn Ocala
Ocala Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing