We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful ride!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cactus Jack's Trail Rides

Cactus Jack's Trail Rides
Ranked #3 of 28 Outdoor Activities in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horseback riding is FUN! Relax and enjoy beautiful guided trail rides from the FLORIDA HORSE PARK and on the Ocala GREENWAY Trail System. Horseback riding is FUN, SAFE and AFFORDABLE. We offer trail rides on our gentle, safe horses! See Florida's oak hammocks, pine forests, and green fields. Riding is the best way to see the beauty of the Ocala area. This is truly Florida at its best. The park is over 90,000 acres!!! We have outstanding horses and our guides have years of experience. We take riders 6 years old and up. We also do custom rides for the more experienced riders. Let us know what type of riding you enjoy, and we will do our best to accomodate..........Call for reservations!
ocala, fl
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful ride!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Thank you Jamie and Michelle for a great day. The horses were gentle, well- cared for and very well trained!! I fell in love with horseback riding all over! The trails through the beautiful woods were perfect! Can't wait to get back and do it again!!

Wendy

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    19
    5
    3
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gentle horses”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Took my grand children there. Horses were gentle and the ride through the trail was very nice, some shady spots. Employees were very professional and great with the kids.

Helpful?
4 Thank tenniscrazy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Regrets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

As a first time rider, this was a good first experience. The ride was calm and easy and the horses knew the trails so no skill was involved. However, because of this, this ride got somewhat boring after 30 minutes. Still, everything was nice and easy for a beginner. So easy that I got curious and instead of directing the horse which way to go, I wanted to see if it would take the hard left turn by itself. Sure enough it did just that. I wish we could have moved a little faster...got up to a little trot or something.

Our guide was very good and easy to talk to (I tipped her). However, she did not control the two younger girls that we were riding with. We were told to leave 4 feet between the horses...they obviously did not listen as they rode ontop of the other horses...in fact my girlfriend's horse looked very mad.

My biggest issue was the price. We originally signed up for the 2 hour ride but my girlfriend was feeling sore after the first hour. At any rate, I had made reservations before Christmas (it was her present) and I was told the rate for 1 hour was $35. I guess they must have adjusted their prices after the new year....

Still, my girlfriend had a good time so I guess I only have regrets.

It was still a good experience, but not a 4 or 5 star.

P.S. Arrive early to fill out the liability paperwork.

Also, this is not the company's actual site. They bring their horses to state owned trails where you ride.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank mebo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Must For Visitors and Locals!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

What a great way to spend your afternoon! The trails are BEAUTIFUL, the horses are friendly and well behaved, and the guides are knowledgable and friendly.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelJunkiefromFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gentle horses, lovely wooded trails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Calm, docile horses that are great for beginners, wonderful scenery either in their local park or the Silver River State Park near Ocala.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jimfromquebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Jack's Trail Rides also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Cactus Jack's Trail Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing