We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere!”
Review of Horse & Hounds Restaurant - CLOSED

Horse & Hounds Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Estill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After many days of show ground meals we really wanted a change. The Horse and Hound was a convenient option. It is a pub style establishment with great food and variety. You must get their homemade potatoe chips with salsa appetizer. Who would have thought to put those two items together? The tilapia dish my daughter had was extremely tasty, and my salad with salmon was superb! We will be back in a month on our next trip to Ocala.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    17
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In Want of Nothing.......”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Delicious food, wonderful staff, great atmosphere!
If you need something extra or a slight deviation from the menu, they are most accomodating!!!
The prices are in line with what is served!! Their hot rolls and butter are a must!!! Attentative but not bothersome!!!! Just excellent from start to finish!!! It's very worthwhile!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank honestabe36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had a prime rib sandwich which was about 8oz of meat, not fat like some restaurants. My husband had the rueben and said it also was delicious. When ever we go to Cedar Key for a weekend we always stop at Horse & Hound and have never been disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank heyjude22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Off our list”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Ordered the prime rib special - steak looked more like a T-bone with a lot of grizzle - would not consider returning here - not worth the money for the "special" and other menu items are too expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Arleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Wings”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

All of the food I have had at Horse & Hounds has been great, but the Wings are the best I have found in the area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse & Hounds Restaurant also viewed

 
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing