We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUFFED”

Cody's Original Roadhouse
Ranked #31 of 483 Restaurants in Ocala
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: You'll only need to look around Cody's to see why "Original" is our middle name. You'll enter an era gone by, when things were simpler, more casual and definitely more relaxed. Tubs of roasted peanuts are available throughout for snackin', crackin' or throwin' on the floor. You'll enjoy Cody's fresh cut, flame broiled, USDA prime and choice Steaks, Prime Rib, Rotisserie Chicken, Pork Back Ribs, Fresh, Fresh Fish, Burgers, Fajitas and more. At Cody's, we're proud of our expert cooking skills and we've put the grill front and center for your viewing.All told, Cody's Original Roadhouse is a fun, casual, family friendly Roadhouse that serves "Just Plain Good Food®". You won't go home hungry or broke - you'll just go home happy!
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“STUFFED”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We ate and drank so much. I loved the atmosphere, the food and the Long Island Iced Teas. The only low was the calamari fries; I prefer the Greek style rings.
We loved the coconut shrimp, beef fajitas and the pulled pork platter. Thursdays has some good specials; plus the Happy Hours were good too. I will be back!

Helpful?
Thank Jenknasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    126
    72
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Roadhouse "Theme" hides filth.....”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Price per dollar, this place is sub-par at best.
Someone should teach the wait servers to wash their hands after they pick up a knife up off the floor then go get my meal and lop their thumb over the edge.
Lesson learned... never again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Salad and bread are great”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

On my most recent visit yesterday I ordered the brisket which was chewy and fatty and had a sauce I didn’t like. I should have gone with the soup and salad, because the star attraction at any Cody’s is the bottomless salad bowl and yeast rolls that come with many meals. They are both outstanding.

We were also at this restaurant on July 4, which has become an annual outing for us and a group of neighbors. For $14, you get half a slab of ribs, half a BBQ chicken, corn on the cob, a potato of your choice, and the salad and bread. Eat the ribs, take home the chicken (that’s a whole chicken between my wife and me), and that’s dinner the next night and chicken salad the night after. Not the best ribs or chicken you ever had, but a good deal.

The waitress was so bad that it was almost entertaining. It began with her bringing out the bread but no plates and went downhill from there. The first time she called me “sweetie” I established a new policy of deducting $1 from the tip for each such violation. Three “sweeties” and one “honey” reduced a $7 tip to $3. But she barely deserved even that.

The bad service concluded with a scenario good enough to be a TV sit-com. She brought take-home boxes for everyone at our table and handed one to everyone but me. She stood by me, holding the box in her hand, when something distracted her at another table and off she ran, with my box. Everyone at the table laughed.

When she came back 5 minutes later with the checks, she was oblivious to what she had done so I told her I needed a box. She returned with one to fit a hamburger. I pointed to the half-chicken on my plate. “Oh, I didn’t see the chicken!” she said, “only the corn.” And I asked, “Will an ear of corn fit in this box?”

But we keep going back. Burgers are OK. Order simple stuff and take it home, and enjoy the unlimited salad and bread as your meal. Also, this is a place where you eat peanuts and toss the shells on the floor. Kids love that.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ocalaed_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Love the salad”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have eaten here a few times in the past year and it is always good.

We went for their 20th Anniversary about 4:00 and it was a ZOO. We had our name in but settled in at the bar to eat and had a great time. We ordered the sirloin and a filet and we both enjoyed it immensely. My husband loves their salad offered in a large family style bowl. Best part they gave you voucher for the cost of your meals. We will go back again and use them, for sure. The manager was very patient with the people who were very impatient. You knew it was free food when you came in and the lines were LONG. Chill out!!!!

While we were sitting in the bar area. A man( beer rep maybe) came in and set up the entire bar with Bud beer. Was a nice surprise.

It was a long night but we had fun and good food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GolfOcalaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice prime rib”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My wife had a quesadilla and I had a prime rib. They were both very good. My prime rib was a wee bit tough but very tasty. Jeanne quesadillas was excellent. We will return again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BMessersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's Original Roadhouse also viewed

 
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Cody's Original Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing