We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total disappointment”

Cody's Original Roadhouse
Ranked #34 of 483 Restaurants in Ocala
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: You'll only need to look around Cody's to see why "Original" is our middle name. You'll enter an era gone by, when things were simpler, more casual and definitely more relaxed. Tubs of roasted peanuts are available throughout for snackin', crackin' or throwin' on the floor. You'll enjoy Cody's fresh cut, flame broiled, USDA prime and choice Steaks, Prime Rib, Rotisserie Chicken, Pork Back Ribs, Fresh, Fresh Fish, Burgers, Fajitas and more. At Cody's, we're proud of our expert cooking skills and we've put the grill front and center for your viewing.All told, Cody's Original Roadhouse is a fun, casual, family friendly Roadhouse that serves "Just Plain Good Food®". You won't go home hungry or broke - you'll just go home happy!
Ocala
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Total disappointment”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Big sign out front with specials. Get inside wife ordered soup. After twenty minutes we were told they gave it to someone else! When I ordered I was told there was no more specials. She was irritated because I didn't have a backup plan. When the soup did come it came with a filty spoon. I was glad to get out of there. The floor was sticky and generally dirty. This is my first review. I was that dissatified. And all this for $54.00!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank gweagley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    127
    72
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delicious Salad”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Cody's Roadhouse is a very lively steak house in Ocala, Florida. Children can color directly on the paper tablecloths....a plus for famililes taking children there to eat! We absolutely loved their bottomless salad bowl! Our daughter accidentally knocked her basket of food on the floor so they quickly mader her a new cheeseburger (which looked WAY BETTER than the first one they brought out to her) and they did not charge us for the second cheeseburger! We had to wait a long time for silverware and had to ask 3 servers for it, but eventually we did get some. Our waitress seemed to be overwhelmed at times and they were slower with their service than they should have been for as much staff as they had on hand! Their ribs and steak were juicy and delicious. We really liked our food and we would go back. The restaurant is full of decorations/clutter so do not take strollers in...there is simply no room! The bathrooms are very clean and have cute decor.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missprincesserica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Stop Off I75”
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We stopped here for lunch on our way from Georgia back home to Miami and it was very good. The service was excellent. We sat outside since we were traveling with our show dog and didn't want to leave him in the truck. Despite being the only table outside, our waitress was very attentive. The food was great - very fresh. Excellent bread rolls. Next time we head back to Georgia for dog shows, we will make a stop there.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvo1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ocala's Cody;s is a must !”
Reviewed April 12, 2011

While visiting from North Carolina, dined @ Cody;s Wed/ 4/6/11 Wife enjoyed Coconut Shrimp and I loved the ribs. Service and atmosphere was great and wish there were a Cody's closer to NC,

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lfipar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
“Not worth it”
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Had a Sunday dinner special. Meat tough, presented unattractively, service sporadic. The portions were small, even for myself who is an average eater.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank casualdiner727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cody's Original Roadhouse also viewed

 
Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Cody's Original Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing