We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAD ACCESS”

Silver Springs River
Ranked #6 of 61 things to do in Ocala
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tavares, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BAD ACCESS”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Wanted to pontoon on River but access was horrible. Way way to steep for trailer and vehicle and getting off walkway onto boat was also very great distance Tree blocked much of downriver access. Didn't use at all.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank L0rac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    50
    17
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Way to Spend the day!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We took a guided trip with Discovery Kayak Tours on the Silver River and it was amazing! The your began with a half mile walk to the launch pad followed by a safety lesson on how to kayak. Once launched you get a few minutes to get your bearings and then begin the paddle upstream- but don't worry the current is pretty lazy so not too much effort required.

Our guide, Tony, was knowledgable and great at spotting the wildlife. We saw alligators, turtles, a beautiful doe at rivers edge and countless birds. When we arrived at the head of the spring fed water we turned around and floated back down the river. Only a little paddling is required at this point and more time for pictures!

I highly recommend the guided tour for beginner kayakers and anyone new to the river. Discovery Kayak has many different types of tours including a half day Eco Tour. Ryan, the owner, is well organized and well versed in all things kayak.

The whole experience was tranquil and fun. What a gift for Mother's Day!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandmamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Can't Wait to See When State Takes Over”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

It was great to see part of Silver Springs - once the state has completed their work it will be nice to re-visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank FHackman82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Silver Springs Park”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Neither their web site or AAA thought to mention the park is packing up, being taken over by the state. Our first inkling of trouble was at hotel check-in, we mentioned our next day plans to visit the pack and was told about changes and state taking over park. We drove out next morning, getting there early...like a ghost town! Note parking would be $8.00, Fla. residents would get half-price admission, roughly $20.00...but gate attendant said animals were gone, most shows cancelled, glass-boated boats mostly shut down, "not much left"....Hey, at leat it was a nice day for a drive ;P

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank marcy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“great kayak trip”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

put in kayaks at Rays wayside park off SR40, at foot of Ocklawaha bridge. River level was low at time, but water gorgeous and clear. Seemed to be more wildlife as we got closer to the springs. No monkeys were out the day we were there, but saw gators, birds of course, and a deer.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank dndaytona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Springs River also viewed

Ocala, Central Florida
Ocala, Central Florida
 

Been to Silver Springs River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing