We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST CUBAN FOOD IN SOUTH FLORIDA”

Fuego Latino Restaurant
Ranked #67 of 112 Restaurants in Oakland Park
Price range: $5 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Commercial Blvd
Description: For authentic Cuban cuisine, Fuego Latino is Fort Lauderdale's finest. With an established reputation for using the freshest ingredients available in traditional Cuban recipes, you're in for flavors you'll come back for. Ignite your passion for Paella and let us show you the true taste of Havana today.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“BEST CUBAN FOOD IN SOUTH FLORIDA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is simply one of the best dining experiences anyone will ever have in a restaurany. This is why i come here on a regular basis. Consistent service and exceptional top motch cuban food. They offer both cuban & mexican entrees but I mainly stick with the cuban side. They have daily lunch specials that start at $4 and finish off at $9. Simply a must go. You will regret not going earlier. AWESOME CUBAN & MEXICAN FOOD> THE BEST

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    3
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cuban Hole In The Wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I came to Florida from Arizona wanting to try some genuine Cuban food. I think I got what I came for at Fuego Latino. But I think if they would decide their identity, whether they're Cuban or Mexican, they could attract a more genuine crowd of patrons looking for something more specific.

Anyway, me and my buddy ordered empanadas, pork and beef. For 1.99 each, I felt like we could have ordered just those and we'd have been satisfied. Very good empanadas, and the price is killer, and they're huge. Tender and flaky, meat inside was well seasoned. Asked for some hot salsa and that made them even better.

I ordered the ropa vieja for my entree, and wish I hadn't. It was far too salty for my taste. Wish I had just ordered another empanada. I didn't eat much of the ropa vieja, and the server didn't remove it from the bill.

Plantains were beautifully carmelized and delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank milkmood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing Cuban & Mexican food. Best in South Florida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Heard about Fuego Latino from our valet guy at our hotel. Thank god we listened to him. The food, service, atmosphere was perfect from beginning to end. Had the oxtail stew and my wife had the roast pork. It was deliciouso!!! And the Fuego sampler appetizer was amazing. You name it. It was on the plate. Emapanads, papa rellena, mariquitas. Tamal, etc. If you come to south Florida and don't check this place out you are definetly missing out on a great dining experience. Can't wait til I come back to Florida again soon. This will definetly be one of our stops.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antonio7740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Cuban food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I had marinated grilled skirt steak, topped with a light white wine butter sauce with shrimp. sides were plantains, white rice and black beans. It was top notch, juicy and super tender And well seasoned. The margaritas are excellent. The only thing that needed improvement was the salsa (needed more fresh onion and garlic please). Nelson the waiter was excellent, friendly and fun and you could tell he takes pride in his job (likely due to the write ups in the local paper and several "bests" awards hung on the wall. Nicely priced too. Local place, not located in a touristy area, but safe, clean and homey feeling

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KimLW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I always look forward to dining here. There are no pretentions here. Solid Cuban and Mexican food with a few other assorted Latin dishes. Service is always fast and very charming. The atmosphere is pleasing with Latin music at just a high enough volume to allow comfortable conversation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ringsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuego Latino Restaurant also viewed

Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
Fort Lauderdale, Broward County
 
Wilton Manors, Broward County
Oakland Park, Broward County
 

Been to Fuego Latino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing