We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Nearby Hotels
The Hotel Sol(Redington Beach)
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Burst Inn(Indian Shores)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Shores West(North Redington Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,745)
Filter reviews
2,746 results
Traveler rating
1,674
735
209
78
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,674
735
209
78
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmangos restaurantdouble treegulf viewwarm cookiesdoubletree beach resortbreakfast buffetgreat beachtop floorgulf of mexicoparking garagebeach chairsocean frontjohn's passspring breakthe entire staffpete beachtiki
Filter
Updating list...
2,263 - 2,268 of 2,746 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed here over the weekend and found it to be very acceptable for a weekend stay in a room with king size bed and balcony. The Gulf View was amazing. I had breakfast buffet at Mangos and the service and food were good but nothing for the record book. The next morning we had breakfast at Frog Pond just a short walk down the road....yummy, try it! Get a room near the south end at top floor if possible...music is played in a tiki hut with bar next to it in the center of the building and it is VERY loud. I turned on the fan on the a/c and drowned it out so it was not enough to make me never want to return. We were third floor, center of hotel. The warm choc cookie upon arrival was nice and the staff was great from start to finish. The bed was do-a-ble but not the heavenly bed I prefer. The underground parking was GREAT and they monitored it during the day to make sure only guests entered...a real plus. The beach is great here and all the amenities you could want are there for you. Visit John's Pass for ice cream and to watch boats coming to and fro....and lunch at the Conch Republic was tasty and the place has really cute decor. The decor is a little "old Florida" but not offensive.

Room Tip: South end, higher floors preferable...definitely Gulf side...awesome view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROADHOTMAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

All in all a very nice place to stay. The beach is beautiful right outside their door and there are many convienient shops and resturaunts close to the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The only reason it didn't get a solid 5 was that the rooms could use a little updating...not that they were bad or run down, just need a little updating. The food service at the hotel was very good (we had the breakfast buffet every morning) and they even have fresh squeezed orange juice! I absolutely plan on staying there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Gulf front room so you can sit on the balcony at night and enjoy the ocean sounds!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaltBKoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations. Because of a late arrival we got checked in late - after 10pm. The kitchen of the restaurant was closed but the waiters made special arrangements and had sandwiches and chips made and brought to us. Every member of the staff at the Doubletree was so nice and helpful. The room was clean and nice. The breakfast buffet (not free) was delicious as was the food and the drinks from the Tiki bar. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank staceebeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed the week after Easter. Knew it was an older property, but took a chance and we are VERY glad we did. Many reviews mention the staff and for good reason - with the exception of one relatively shy breakfast waitress (she warmed up the 2nd day we had her) we have never had better service from every single staffer at a property before. The front desk staff acted like family. The bartenders/wait staff were fast and accommodating. Housekeeping asks when it is convenient to clean your room and they stick to your request (I have never been asked this before!) They noticed we had teenagers with us and asked if they would be "sleeping in." Wow!
The beach is not crowded, the sand is beautiful, the rentable chairs are comfy and have shade toppers to keep the peak sun away.
The area has enough decent restaurants within 5 miles to last you a week or more, and the hotel breakfast buffet is worth the $15.
The only 2 complaints are out of the staff's control - the elevator is inconsistent and sometimes very slow (take the stairs!) and the internet access is also slow and spotty. But relax and enjoy the beautiful views from the gulf-side rooms that are definitely worth the price upgrade.
We will absolutely come back.

Room Tip: Gulf side, higher floor away from the Tiki bar if noise prior to 11:30pm bothers you.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ny2oh2nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeLaurie, General Manager at Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2012

I am glad your experience at our hotel was positive, and especially appreciate the comments about our staff. I apologize for the poor elevator experience. We have just completed the first of 3 modernizing steps at the end of April. Also, I apologize for the slow internet access. We installed a new High Speed Internet Access system the first week of May resulting in a dramatic increase in broadband and a great deal of positive feedback from hotel guests. I hope you will give us another chance to serve you.

Thank you,
Terry Graber
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Great views direcly of the ocean. Older unit with average furnishings but well maintained and clean. Pool towels are gone by noon but checkin is at 4PM. So explain how that works for the new guest? Tiki hut nice company and good drinks.

Room Tip: Consider where the tiki hut is located if you are looking for a quiet room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews