We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place but could use a few upgrades”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Redington Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sails Resort and Apartment Motel
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice place but could use a few upgrades”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Pros: directly on the beach
beautifully landscaped grounds
clean, large pool
very good rates

Cons: A/C window units (one in living room, one in bedroom) could not keep up with Florida humidity. It was 2:00 am before the rooms ever cooled off.
No ice machines.
kitchenette not well stocked. I cooked canned biscuits in a frying pan in the oven : ).
tiny, tiny bathroom.

Overall, it was a nice place and we don't regret staying there. We enjoyed our trip a lot!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disney1sttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    27
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

Beautiful grounds, small but clean and never crowded pool, quiet relaxing spot, directly gulf front, cozy rooms - the only complaint was the hard (double) bed, not a queen or a king. The wi-fi only worked sporadically too, but that was OK - didn't want to see too much email anyway :-) Loved the pavillion where you could get out of the sun but still be close to the gulf. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennesseeOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

This is a great place to stay....big clean rooms, friendly staff....very well maintained....beach and pool are pretty much right outside your door....not alot of people like at the bigger places......great price for what you get. I will be back next year.

  • Liked — proximity to beach and price
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dschett70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

The best thing about The Sails has to be the location! You're right on the Gulf and the view is amazing. There's a nice sized pool which was clean and never crowded. There's also a covered veranda which is great when you feel like getting out of the sun. The grounds were well maintained and have some interesting plants/flowers you can look at.

The rooms were okay. Nothing special. Actually a little worn down, but considering the price and location, it was fine. You dont spend much time in your room anyway, so it was not a problem. The pics on their web site are true to what the rooms look like.

The management was nice enough to let us check in a little early which we appreciated having drove quite a long way to get there.

Overall we had a great time at The Sails and hope to return to the area some day.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueskyzUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Level Contributor
305 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2008

We stayed here for a week and enjoyed it very much. The grounds are well kept, the beach is just steps away and the rooms are clean.

  • Liked — Right on the beach, our room had a shower unit only- easy in/out
  • Disliked — 1st floor heard a lot of noise from the second floor as people walked
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philangie6370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2007

Stayed here for 10 days. Very nice place to relax and enjoy the beach. The people who work here are very helpful and nice. Hotel is clean and kept up. BBQ grill on premises, most units have kitchens, It is not the Ritz, however it is a great family or couples hotel. Will return and stay here from now on.

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — matresses could stand to be updated
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank barbark2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Redington Beach
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.1 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
4.0 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
0.1 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sails Resort and Apartment Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails Resort and Apartment Motel

Property: Sails Resort and Apartment Motel
Address: 17004 Gulf Blvd, North Redington Beach, FL 33708
Location: United States > Florida > North Redington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in North Redington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tropically landscaped Sails Resort Apartment Motel is directly on the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico, one of the safest beaches in the U.s. & in a quiet area. Located centrally to St. Petersburg, Clearwater and Tampa.Our apartments are spacious and comfortable, but yet affordable accommodations. There is daily maid service (except Sundays and Holidays), so your time will be free for fun and relaxation. All bedrooms are furnished with 2 double beds or 1 double and 1 twin. Sleeper sofas in Living Rooms.All open out to our spacious grounds with 200' beach frontage and sun deck, 20' X 40' heated pool, sun-hut, gas barbecue, guest laundry on premises, shuffleboard, phones in rooms, wall to wall carpeting, free WIFI and all this and more in a friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sails Resort And Apartment Hotel North Redington Beach
Sails Hotel And Apartment
Sails Resort And Apartment Motel North Redington Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing