We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"STAY AWAY FROM ROOM #234”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Redington Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandalwood Beach Resort
Madeira Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"STAY AWAY FROM ROOM #234”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

My wife and I went to sandalwood in No Redington Beach for our vacation. We were there for 6 nights. Pulling in at the hotel it looks real nice but that changes when you get into the pool area. The pool is kept very clean so the kids that use it all day won't get sick. Not adult friendly. The place looks old and worn. Carpet around stairs and walkways are torn and need to be replaced. The rec room, that faces the ocean, should be called the "wrecked room". We sat in there once, it was warm so I tried to open the window. I needed a box to hold it open. The door would not stay open, it took a chair. Only a few rooms have an ocean view, all others are over the pool. Our room #234 was clean but soooo old it was a joke. Blinds in living room would not open, place needed paint, bathtub was full of big chips, broken tile, ect. ect.This is a condo-hotel, which means the units all have private owners. Some owners take better care then others, so if you want to stay here make sure you ask about the shape of the room. The staff were all great and I think they are trying to do the best they can with what they are given to do their jobs on a daily basis. They were all friendly and tried to help guest. This is a cheap hotel for being on the beach so if being right on the sand is your only goal you can get by the things that are wrong. We had a great time in the area and the location is good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikefromvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    33
    15
    13
    41
See reviews for
66
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

Do not be put off coming here by the untruthful reviews I have read, in some of the reviews.
We stayed in a gulf front 1 bed room with kitchenette in feb 2009, and again in Feb 2010 and have booked for Feb 2011, and believe me, we would not fly all the way from England for our 10 night stay, if it was bad as some of the reviews have said. Yes, its an older style hotel, but if you want a modern built hotel, try staying next door for 4 times the price.
All the staff, are just fabulous, they helped us out in so many ways, we really couldn't thank them enough, and our room on the second floor was just great, fantastic views over the beach and Gulf, what more could you possibly want?
So, if you want a great little, friendly home from home set right on the beach, well, this is it. Come and give it a try, but please...leave a room spare for us!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlackpoolMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

This is not the Ritz, neither is the price, Best vacation in years, rooms are clean, nothing fancy, but why are people going to the Gulf to spend time in their rooms? The beach, the sunsets,sun rise are what it's all about. Staff was more than willing to take care of any needs. The Pool is beautiful! parking in front is limited, spaces provided across the street. We travel with a large group, and are able to use a large meeting room for family meals, watch College playoffs on the TV and enjoy the time together. If you are looking for glam, don't come here, save the room for one of the 12 + we rent for the week, if you want a relaxing vacation, book it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockeymum47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stopped here to try somewhere new, no reservations. We were given a room on the 3rd floor, corner. We found out later only 5 at the most other rooms were occupied and two of those rooms left the next day. How the heck to they decide who gets what rooms?! Why were we not offered a Gulf front room; plenty available!! The pool was un-useable because it is solar heated. The court yard blocks the sun. The room was a good size and clean.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Borsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

We stayed recently. What an experience. Kitchens would not comply with health and safety anywhere in europe, there was a hole in the surface. The coating on the toilet seat was worn through and look disgusting. Ceilings over cooking areas were filthy, as were the bathroom ceilings. There was a space of just 10 inches between one side of the bed and the wall. Our 1 bed was on the beachfront, however the safety catch on the inside of the door was missing, and from the many screw marks, it was evident that many such safety catches had been fitted in the past. This was worrying, as the actual door lock was well worn and easy to 'Bump' from the outside. Ive seen better motels on route 66. The pictures on the web are not a true likeness of what greets you. It feels gruby, and made my skin crawl. We had booked in for 1 week, but checked out early after one night. What I didnt know was that they had deducted the full weeks cost when we checked in. They refused a refund pointing to a notice on the wall. I treathened them legally and also said I would call the cops. I got very insistant, been a retired cop myself. Eventually they relented, and re-credited my MCard, but not before trying once more by saying "why didnt you complain last night". The reason I didnt complain after moving in was because my wife was ill with flu and went asleep after moving in. Any good reviews of this place must be suspect. I have the photos to prove what I saw. I wouldnt stay here if they paid me to.........The staff are well used to this, judging by their attitude.......Its the worse place i have ever been.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Routesixtysixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downstate Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

We were in a bind for a room on short notice and located the Sandalwood through a realtor. I called and booked the room for 3 nights before reading the reviews on the internet. Needless to say, I was very worried and even tried to make alternate arrangements before we arrived. I'm actually quite glad I was unable to change plans. We stayed in a one bedroom gulf view room on the second floor and it was actually very nice. It was not the Ritz, but it was clean and had a beautiful balcony 50 yards from the gulf. The building is older and in need of some renovation, but the pool area was well landscaped and well maintained. The room had two double beds, a larger living room and small kitchenette. The front of the room was all glass and allowed for beautiful views of the gulf. The housekeeper was pleasant and brought us clean towels daily and emptied the trash. There is a nice little restaurant open Wednesday - Sunday inside the hotel that serves burgers if you don't want to leave the beach. The Sandalwood was short drive from John's Pass Village which offers shops and loads of activities. I would suggest bringing beach chairs as the rentals are not inexpensive and not mobile. In short, for $140 tax included, you get a gulf front suite with a 20' balcony, in an older resort, that is clean and right on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 635BCCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2009

Just returned from a trip for our sons wedding. We found the resort very clean and desk managers very friendly. I slept better than I have in long time. The pool was very clean and so relaxing. Great price although not fancy I did not stress out over the price. We had a ocean view room on second floor. My parents stayed in hotel nearby for more money without ocean view and my dad liked our room better.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kymomky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Redington Beach
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
3.2 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Isles Resort
Holiday Isles Resort
#12 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Malibu Beach Resort
Malibu Beach Resort
#5 of 5 in North Redington Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandalwood Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandalwood Beach Resort

Property: Sandalwood Beach Resort
Address: 17100 Gulf Blvd, North Redington Beach, FL 33708-1443
Location: United States > Florida > North Redington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in North Redington Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Also Known As:
Sandalwood Beach Hotel North Redington Beach
Sandalwood Beach North Redington
Sandalwood Beach Resort North Redington Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing