We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Excellent Service”

Mangos Restaurant & Tiki Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Taste the tropics in Mangos Restaurant! Enjoy a casual yet elegant setting with views of the Gulf of Mexico from every seat as you dine indoors or outside on our Verandah and savor our award winning "Florida/Caribbean Cuisine". Spectacular sunsets give way to tiki torches, starlit skies and island music as you enjoy a cool tropical drink at the Beachside Tiki Bar which offers drinks, snacks, light lunches and dinners. Full Gluten Free Menus available for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. We Proudly Serve Starbucks Coffees & Teas.
Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good Food, Excellent Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I've eaten dinner twice, and had breakfast once (so far) during my stay.

The dinner menu offers a decent selection of various dishes. The first night I was late eating, and had snacked earlier, so just wanted a light meal. The combination of the Tomato Salad and the Crab Cakes fit the need. The salad is a good-sized helping of baby spinach with three slices of tomato, and a shower of crumbled blue cheese served with balsamic vinaigrette. Simple, but delicious. The crab cakes didn't seem to have a great deal of crab meat, but were tasty all the same. The warm bread is a house-made bread flavoured with pineapple and coconut, not overly-sweet but very tasty.

The second night I ordered the same salad, and then had Grouper Oscar. Tip: ask for salad dressing on the side so you don't get too much. The grouper was huge, the crab meat topping was delicious, and the hollandaise sauce smooth and velvety. As well as the bread on this night, I got a complimentary appetizer of house-made sweet potato chips topped with mango salsa.

On a warmer, less windy night, I would have really enjoyed eating either of those dinners outdoors on the large terrace.

The breakfast buffet is large and varied, and includes an omelette station as well as eggs benedict, fresh fruit, assorted breads and cold cereals, and more, with juice also included. I found the coffee a bit on the weak side, but all the food was very good.

Service on all occasions was excellent, with good teamwork. When my own server was busy distributing plates for a large table, another young lady stopped by to ask if I needed anything, and cheerfully went to get me a glass of water.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny0654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeLaurie, General Manager at Mangos Restaurant & Tiki Bar, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review about our restaurant! We appreciate hearing your feedback about the food, beverage and service you experienced in Mangos during your stay at our resort and we are happy that you enjoyed everything. We are always looking for ways to improve and will be sure to share your comments with all our restaurant and kitchen staff. Hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Terry Graber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    150
    65
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“New Years Eve & NO reason to celebrate at Mangos”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Four of us decided to have a late New Years Eve dinner at Mangos. We had a reservation and were seated promptly. From there the experience went completely down hill. We are frequent diners and I have to say this was one of the worst experiences I can remember. We started out with multiple restaurant employees walking by with not even a glance in our direction. Finally our assigned waitress appeared, and with an attitude to go with it. Obviously something was wrong as it appeared she had no desire to be there or to wait on us. It was all we could do to get a drink order placed. Finally both couples had the opportunity to order the New Years Eve special for two. It consisted of for each person soup or salad, bread, appetizer an entree. The menu for this special was very limited. While we waited for the soup or salad, no waitress and no drink refills. Finally the soup and salad arrived. Next should have been the appetizers, but they were forgotten and here comes the entrees. Three of the four of us order the steak. It was fatty and only about half edible meat. Still no appetizers, nor our waitress. Some young lady finally came over to our table and refilled our drinks. Still no appetizers or waitress.
Our assigned waitress passed us several times later and did not even stop to acknowledge our presence. Finally she came over to clear our dishes and to apologize for the late arrival of the appetizers. That was the appetizers we never received. Never once did she ask how we liked our dinner and it was obvious to me that she noticed the half eaten steaks on our plates. She did discount our bill by $5 per person for the missing appetizers. As we were leaving we noticed another patron complaining to a young lady who could have been the manager about his steak and he was holding it up with a fork.
Needless to say a overall BAD experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeLaurie, General Manager at Mangos Restaurant & Tiki Bar, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Please accept my apology for the unacceptable lapse in service and food quality. Our Food & Beverage Management and Chef have implemented corrective action to ensure this does not happen again. I hope you will give us another chance.

Sincerely,
Terry Graber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good for the sunsets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is an excellent place to catch a great sunset, but the drinks are overpriced and the food is adequate at best.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mbc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
159 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great food, service, view and gluten free options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at the Double Tree hotel so I was very surprised to find out that the hotel restaurant had a very extensive gluten free menu.

Unfortunately I didn't try the place out for Lunch or Dinner however breakfast was very nice.

They had fresh baked gluten free bread and I was simply in heaven, we sat outside overlooking the beach.

the service was also very good, the staff were very friendly and attentive.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeLaurie, General Manager at Mangos Restaurant & Tiki Bar, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, "BBChef", and especially that you were able to try some of our Gluten Free menu options. We are proud to offer full Gluten Free menus for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Hopefully you will come back to visit us soon and try some of our GF items for Lunch and Dinner!

Warm Regards,
Terry Graber, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great place for sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This bar is not really known by many because it's tucked inside the doubletree hotel. Pull into the parking lot and then walk to the pool.

Excellent view, great bartenders and a beach feel. At night they have a guitar player.

A real gem.

Helpful?
Thank TravelingRomantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangos Restaurant & Tiki Bar also viewed

 
North Redington Beach, FL
North Redington Beach, FL
 

Been to Mangos Restaurant & Tiki Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing