We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Very Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ram Sea Condominiums

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Redington Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ram Sea Condominiums
Save
You added Ram Sea Condominiums to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This review is for condo 309 in Building 1. We stayed there for a week beginning Aug 14, 2013. This is a corner unit which means you have an unimpeded view of the sunset. The balcony, which faces the ocean, is spacious and offers a great ocean view. It is furnished with a table and 4 chairs. The unit sits on the opposite end of the building from the pool so you don't hear noise from the people playing there, The condo is in good shape. It is clean, well furnished, the carpets are fairly new, and the bathrooms appear to have been recently updated. However, the workmanship in the shower stall (off of the bedroom with the king bed) was lacking. The floor was not leveled properly so that it is higher in the middle than at the ends. This causes water to pool at the back of the shower. Also, the sliding door does not stay completely closed. These were minor issues/inconveniences though. The kitchen is adequately equipped with utensils and dinnerware. We never cooked so I cannot comment on the stove nor oven. The freezer has an ice maker which was unplugged upon our arrival. Plugging it was easy and it worked well. The beds were comfortable, but the mattresses are on the firm side (we had occasional hip pain). The biggest drawback was the internet connection. Although we had a strong signal from the router (which was unplugged on our arrival), we were frequently unable to connect to the internet (restarting the router did not help). And when we did, the speed was agonizingly slow. As an example, I tried to download a book to my Kindle. After 1.5 hours, it had only downloaded 2% of the book. I then tethered the Kindle to my phone and completed the download in 15 seconds. We ended up using our phones for all of our internet activities. There were a couple of beach chairs, a boogie board, and several puzzles in the unit for our use. The beach itself is clean and the water is very conducive to swimming. Unlike Sanibel, your feet will not get scraped and cut by seashells. There are beach chairs and umbrellas for rent ($25/day, $125/wk). The agent comes by several times a day to adjust the umbrella so that the chairs are always in the shade. Lots of different types of sea birds in the area. On our last day we did see a school of 6-8 stingrays swimming around near the shore. They left after a couple of hours. In summary, this is a solid (not luxurious) unit on a nice beach. It is a good value, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank public1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Public 1:

Greetings from the beaches and...thank you for your recent review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write. We are happy you enjoyed Ram Sea and condo 309. The view from the corner condos is amazing, especially the evening sunsets.

309 has just had quite a few upgrades, including the bathroom you mentioned. I don't know what can be done about leveling after the fact but we will have it looked into. Also sounds like our staff needs to make sure ice makers and modems are plugged in before arrivals. We are usually pretty on top of things but it is something we will work on.

Apologize for the internet issues. It is hard to keep up with demands on bandwidth and this is an ongoing effort for us to find technology that will work consistently in this environment.

Take care and we do hope to see you again in the future...

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    33
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
67
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at Ram Sea 213 on 8/10/2013 for a week. The condo has just been updated and is beautiful. The furniture is comfortable and the condo was equipped with everything you need. The view from the balcony overlooks the pool and beach and gives you the feeling of being on the beach even when you are inside, paradise! I have stayed at many condos and this was the nicest also very clean. The ladies in the office were very helpful and friendly, especially Terri. I cannot say enough about how well maintained the condo and facility was. The pool was cleaned daily along with the pool chairs jacuzzi and surrounding areas. JC resorts takes pride in the care of its facility and the friendliness of all its staff from the office, maintenance, and house cleaning staff. I would highly recommend Ram Sea and room 213 is a great condo that is newly updated and very comfortable. Thank you for a great vacation we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 213 is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachboatfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hello Beach Boat Fun and greetings from the beaches.

Just wanted to thank you for taking the time to write a review of Ram Sea. We are so very glad you enjoyed Ram Sea and condo 213. This condo is so nice. It has recently been upgraded and the owners have done a fabulous job. I love the colors and decor...so very "beachy".

We very much appreciate your kind comments about the grounds and staff. We do try very hard to make sure everyone enjoys their stay. We hope to see you back again soon.

Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at this place for a week. First I will say the good. The beach is great and this was the highlight. Other than that the conditions of the room ruined our trip. The condition of the room was poor at best. The property management replies to reviews saying they did not get notified of guests complaints. This is untrue and a standard answer from them to sidestep fixing the problems. We complained the next day without any actions from them. When we complained to our tour group the management team told them we did not advise them of our issues which was completely false. Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere on this beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello Eddie H:

Thank you for taking your time to review the Ram Sea. No mention in your review of the condo you occupied but, our records show it was 503. We are quite sorry you were disappointed in 503. As you may recall, we had you reserved to stay in condo 110, which is quite suited to accommodate the number of people in your party and was inspected and ready for your arrival. On the day you arrived you requested to be moved next door to other members of your family. We did let you see 503 before occupying and did try to suggest 110 as being better suited but...in the end we honored your request. As you mentioned in correspondence to your tour operator...your family stayed in 504 next door and you wrote "the two bedroom property was a great property and exactly what we expected."

Our records show we addressed complaints about 503, that were within our power to rectify, right away. Most of the issues were mentioned the day before you departed and of course relayed to your tour operator.

Again...we regret the fact that you were displeased with 503. We regret that you feel our replies are "untrue and a standard answer from them to sidestep fixing the problem". We try to answer each review with an individualized response based on research and circumstances. We take pride in what we do. We are serious about responsibilities to our guests, owners and vacation properties. We spend vast amounts of time behind the scenes so that vacationers and beach goers are pleased with our beaches, vacation rentals and staff.

We are truly sorry we were unable to make you happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed in unit 502 which was clean, nicely furnished and very spacious. Views from the balcony were wonderful. Pool and jacuzzi areas and pool toilets were always clean
Reception staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Hired a double cabana on the beach for $110 for the week although beach chairs were available in the condo. Watched dolphins playing just a few yards out at sea, wonderful.
Plenty of restaurants, a shopping mall and Publix was just a few minutes drive away.
Would highly recommend condo 502.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello "Andbev"

Thank you for taking the time to review Ram Sea and condo 502. This is indeed a cute one bedroom. The owners have done a fabulous job of making it nice and comfortable as they enjoy their time here as well. It is amazing how spacious the condos are. Thank you for your kind words on grounds and staff. We are not perfect but... we do try very hard to make everyone comfortable and happy.

The beach cabanas are also a nice touch. The guys that own and operate the beach concessions have been around for over 25 years. They are also geared towards making sure everything is as right as it can be.

Thank you again...take care and hope to see you again when you are in the neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family and I stayed here last May (2012) in unit 312. The views from the moment you walked in the condo were to die for! Everything from start to finish was amazing - beds were comfy - rooms clean and plenty of space to move about for a family of 5 with elder teens/early 20's. We only stayed a few nights here but enjoyed it so much we are returning this summer for an entire week to really relax & see more of the sights here on the beautiful Gulf coast! We highly recommend this property if you love being oceanfront & don't like being crammed into a hotel room!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor which had awesome views but my guess it the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisnrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello "ChrisandRich":

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Ram Sea and condo 312. The view from 312 is pretty fantastic, especially from the porch swing on the balcony. We get many of requests for that condo specifically for the swing. The condos also offer lots of room for a family to "spread out" and have room to relax.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the beach and the local area. When you get back again for a longer stay you'll have more time to enjoy and explore.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We are regular visitors to the area over the past 15 years. This was our second stay at the Ram Sea in the past 3 or 4 years. The property is a 30 year old property (approximate), So, it has its 30 year old issues.
First the Property and Location:
Overall the property is great and it is well kept.
The building has underground parking area which was mostly unused during this visit. There are bathrooms in the pool and deck area for guests use only. This is a great convenience so that when the need arises you only have to walk a little to use the facilities and not have to go all the way up to your condo. This way you have more time for your book, enjoying some suds and soaking up the sun. The bathrooms (both ladies and men's) were modern and very clean. They were kept immaculate and well stocked with soap and paper towels all the time. They were always fresh and clean. Very much appreciated.
All staff were very friendly and accommodating. They were all seemingly very happy to work there and into their jobs. We had twice a week service to our unit and weekly linen changes. We were pleased with this as we have not always experienced this at other units.
The one negative at this unit was the elevator. It was slower than slow. This building was a 5 storey building of which we were on the 5th floor. Therefore we used the elevator allot. It worked fine and was clean but it was an annoyance because it was so slow. The ride up or down I never timed but between waiting for the elevator and the travel you could be 5 minutes. Taking the stairs is an option but usually we were carrying a number of items and/or were tired from a day in the sun. When we stayed at the Ram Sea a couple of years ago we were on the second floor so we never used the elevator.
Second, the unit:
Unit 506
Like many condo units of this age we usually find them in need of updates due to their age. This one is no different. They have completed a kitchen update with granite counter-tops, newer taps and some cupboard updates. The dishes, pots and pans were fine and they had a good selection of utensils. The knives for cutting are in poor condition and should be replaced. The fridge was great with an ice maker that kept up to your ice demand. We only bought one bag of ice all week because usually an icemaker cannot make enough. The stove was in need of repair or replacement. The burners did not sit level as it looks like the metal catch basins under the burners were replaced but were not meant for this stove. The burners could not sit in the slots that were in the catch basins which made the burners sit incorrectly. It makes cooking anything difficult as all the liquid flows to one side. It is also somewhat unsafe as items can easily tip over easier as they are on a slant. Other than that the stove was fine. Just an irritant that makes the owners seem cheap even though they may not be. The coffee pot is really old and needs to be replaced. It made poor tasting coffee and it was very stained from age and use. The toaster worked ok, but just ok, however again was in need of replacement. The sink was fine as were the taps but they were a little corroded. There was no dish soap or soap for the dishwasher and no paper towels. Items I feel should be there. One other item that was missing was coffee filters. There were some but not made for this coffee pot.
The bathrooms were adequate but again needed some help and updating. Tubs were older and border line in need of replacement. Vanities and toilets were fine. Wall tiles and paint were in need of updating. They towel holders were outdated but did their job. The second bedroom had a bowl type sink which was more visually pleasing than user friendly. The toilet paper holder was broken and did not sit properly. A $8 fix. The door stopper was broken a $2 fix.
The bedrooms were again, ok but the carpets are in need of replacement. They were also in dire need of a good deep clean if they were not replacing. These carpets were almost a deal breaker for me. I would not return to this unit if the carpets are not replaced.
The difference in this unit experience could have been great instead of just ok if there were some simple updates, some deeper cleans and some replacements of some various amenities.
Here are my examples. TV. It is a large screen TV that is a piece of furniture that takes up a ton of space. It was an awesome TV in its day but is likely 15 or more years old. Again, in its day it was all that but technology has changed a great deal and it needs replacing. The viewing at night time is adequate but in the day time the glare on the screen makes it difficult. The sound was great. The bedroom tube TV's are old very old and in need of replacement as well.
Living room furniture was nice and comfortable.
The wireless internet was available to us. If it wasn't, we would not have booked the unit. It was a must. Unfortunately, the internet speed for today's internet was horrible. It worked intermittently at best. It was slow and froze up regularly. We had two laptops for our needs and neither worked well enough for us to work. I had to go to a cafe to do my necessary work where everything worked fine. It was not acceptable.
Another oddity we experienced was cell phone service. Inside our unit or on the patio there was no service. In the parking lot it was intermittent as well. The providers would change from AT&T to T Mobile and to others. It just seemed that where we were located there was just poor cell service in this area.
The balcony caught us off guard as the view of the sunset was impeded by the condo to the right. Its balcony extended out further than ours and block our units sunsets. We did not know this was the case. Not a deal breaker but would have been nice to know of it prior to booking. The balcony furniture was old and dilapidated. The table especially needs replacing. It was not level and was grimy and had been painted, what looked like, several times. This just makes the owners look cheap and only concerned about getting the rental money. I would like to believe this is not the case.
Outside the negative of the carpets there were some deep clean issues (usually due to the age of the property) that need attention. The baseboards were old, dirty and in need of replacement. From the baseboards and out from them about 6 - 8 inches the tile had signs of discoloration from years of dirt and grime. I believe a deep clean would help while they are replacing the baseboards.
In the end, we will go back to the Ram Sea. The unit however, unless it has some updates to the issues stated I would not re-book it. We have viewed some other units and will book those.
The unit requires updates that cost wise would be only a few thousand dollars. Carpet replacement, TV replacements, Internet speed increase, Baseboard replacement, and a deep clean. Total cost might be $3000 - $3500 to bring this unit to a pristine level and have tenants lined up to use. The unit has provided many years of providing great family memories and deserves something put back into it. The rating for cleanliness is difficult to give an average rating mainly because of the carpets. The staff cleaning it is not at fault at all. The owners must provide regular commercial carpet cleaning if they want to keep any carpet in great shape.

Room Tip: The RAM SEA is a perfect location with the beach being very close and convenient. Look at the photo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnESSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello John:

Thank you for taking the time for a very thorough review. Obviously, we are pleased with positive comments in many areas. We will address the concerns you had with 506 and will also make sure to convey this information as needed. Ram Sea recently underwent a major renovation project. The project involved replacing the west (beach facing) walls and installing a new hurricane rated, sea turtle friendly sliding glass door system in every condo. Needless to say...the project was quite costly. So, the owners are investing in their vacation home in a significant manner. The owners of 506 have done a great deal to the condo and will perhaps do some tweaking soon. Thank you again for taking the time to write. 506 is a favorite of many of our repeat guests and we certainly want to continue that custom.

We here at Ram Sea and JC Resorts definitely enjoy what we do. We appreciate our guest comments and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Just got back to the UK after a two week stay at the Ram Sea. We were in room 107 which was lovely . Views over the ocean were stunning .... Especially waking up with the wonderful view from the bedroom ! We have stayed at several places on this part of the Gulf Coast & over the last 20years & up to date found this to be the best yet. The ladies in the reception area couldn't have been more helpful & nothing was too much trouble for them. Apartment clean & well supplied with fresh towels & beds changed weekly.
Already hoping to return sometime soon. Many thanks to all there for making our holiday really restful & hassle free.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Aviator57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello Aviator57:

Thanks ever so for your wonderful review of Ram Sea 107. When you are happy...we are happy. 107 is very nice and has lots of touches that make it a great "home away from home". The sunsets are world class ...as are our guests.

Bless your heart, thanks again and please...come see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Redington Beach
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
3.3 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 641 reviews
2.1 mi away
Courtyard St. Petersburg Clearwater/Madeira Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,138 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island House Resort
Island House Resort
#2 of 2 in North Redington Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ram Sea Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ram Sea Condominiums

Property: Ram Sea Condominiums
Address: 17200 Gulf Blvd, North Redington Beach, FL 33708-1398
Location: United States > Florida > North Redington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in North Redington Beach
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly beachfront. Fully furnished one, two and three bedroom vacation rentals. All accommodations have full kitchens, living room, dining room and a private balcony directly overlooking the beach and Gulf. On site guest services office, on site staff. Heated pool and Jacuzzi. Beach concessions (cabana rentals, hobie cats, jet skis, aqua cycles, kayaks, etc). Large pool and Jacuzzi deck equipped with tiki huts, beach chairs and chaise lounges. Beach volleyball on site. Next to DoubleTree Hotel offering full restaurant, lounge, beachside dining and tiki bar.Located in the quaint beach town of North Redington Beach. Directly in between St Pete and Clearwater Beaches in the heart of Tampa Bay. Close to restaurants, shopping, water sports, Johns Pass Village, professional sports, arts and entertainment and everything the Tampa Bay Area has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ram Sea Condominiums Hotel North Redington Beach
Ram Sea Condominiums North Redington Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing