We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Conditions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ram Sea Condominiums
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at this place for a week. First I will say the good. The beach is great and this was the highlight. Other than that the conditions of the room ruined our trip. The condition of the room was poor at best. The property management replies to reviews saying they did not get notified of guests complaints. This is untrue and a standard answer from them to sidestep fixing the problems. We complained the next day without any actions from them. When we complained to our tour group the management team told them we did not advise them of our issues which was completely false. Do yourself a favor and stay elsewhere on this beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hello Eddie H:

Thank you for taking your time to review the Ram Sea. No mention in your review of the condo you occupied but, our records show it was 503. We are quite sorry you were disappointed in 503. As you may recall, we had you reserved to stay in condo 110, which is quite suited to accommodate the number of people in your party and was inspected and ready for your arrival. On the day you arrived you requested to be moved next door to other members of your family. We did let you see 503 before occupying and did try to suggest 110 as being better suited but...in the end we honored your request. As you mentioned in correspondence to your tour operator...your family stayed in 504 next door and you wrote "the two bedroom property was a great property and exactly what we expected."

Our records show we addressed complaints about 503, that were within our power to rectify, right away. Most of the issues were mentioned the day before you departed and of course relayed to your tour operator.

Again...we regret the fact that you were displeased with 503. We regret that you feel our replies are "untrue and a standard answer from them to sidestep fixing the problem". We try to answer each review with an individualized response based on research and circumstances. We take pride in what we do. We are serious about responsibilities to our guests, owners and vacation properties. We spend vast amounts of time behind the scenes so that vacationers and beach goers are pleased with our beaches, vacation rentals and staff.

We are truly sorry we were unable to make you happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 110 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed in unit 502 which was clean, nicely furnished and very spacious. Views from the balcony were wonderful. Pool and jacuzzi areas and pool toilets were always clean
Reception staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Hired a double cabana on the beach for $110 for the week although beach chairs were available in the condo. Watched dolphins playing just a few yards out at sea, wonderful.
Plenty of restaurants, a shopping mall and Publix was just a few minutes drive away.
Would highly recommend condo 502.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hello "Andbev"

Thank you for taking the time to review Ram Sea and condo 502. This is indeed a cute one bedroom. The owners have done a fabulous job of making it nice and comfortable as they enjoy their time here as well. It is amazing how spacious the condos are. Thank you for your kind words on grounds and staff. We are not perfect but... we do try very hard to make everyone comfortable and happy.

The beach cabanas are also a nice touch. The guys that own and operate the beach concessions have been around for over 25 years. They are also geared towards making sure everything is as right as it can be.

Thank you again...take care and hope to see you again when you are in the neighborhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family and I stayed here last May (2012) in unit 312. The views from the moment you walked in the condo were to die for! Everything from start to finish was amazing - beds were comfy - rooms clean and plenty of space to move about for a family of 5 with elder teens/early 20's. We only stayed a few nights here but enjoyed it so much we are returning this summer for an entire week to really relax & see more of the sights here on the beautiful Gulf coast! We highly recommend this property if you love being oceanfront & don't like being crammed into a hotel room!

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor which had awesome views but my guess it the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisnrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Hello "ChrisandRich":

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Ram Sea and condo 312. The view from 312 is pretty fantastic, especially from the porch swing on the balcony. We get many of requests for that condo specifically for the swing. The condos also offer lots of room for a family to "spread out" and have room to relax.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the beach and the local area. When you get back again for a longer stay you'll have more time to enjoy and explore.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We are regular visitors to the area over the past 15 years. This was our second stay at the Ram Sea in the past 3 or 4 years. The property is a 30 year old property (approximate), So, it has its 30 year old issues.
First the Property and Location:
Overall the property is great and it is well kept.
The building has underground parking area which was mostly unused during this visit. There are bathrooms in the pool and deck area for guests use only. This is a great convenience so that when the need arises you only have to walk a little to use the facilities and not have to go all the way up to your condo. This way you have more time for your book, enjoying some suds and soaking up the sun. The bathrooms (both ladies and men's) were modern and very clean. They were kept immaculate and well stocked with soap and paper towels all the time. They were always fresh and clean. Very much appreciated.
All staff were very friendly and accommodating. They were all seemingly very happy to work there and into their jobs. We had twice a week service to our unit and weekly linen changes. We were pleased with this as we have not always experienced this at other units.
The one negative at this unit was the elevator. It was slower than slow. This building was a 5 storey building of which we were on the 5th floor. Therefore we used the elevator allot. It worked fine and was clean but it was an annoyance because it was so slow. The ride up or down I never timed but between waiting for the elevator and the travel you could be 5 minutes. Taking the stairs is an option but usually we were carrying a number of items and/or were tired from a day in the sun. When we stayed at the Ram Sea a couple of years ago we were on the second floor so we never used the elevator.
Second, the unit:
Unit 506
Like many condo units of this age we usually find them in need of updates due to their age. This one is no different. They have completed a kitchen update with granite counter-tops, newer taps and some cupboard updates. The dishes, pots and pans were fine and they had a good selection of utensils. The knives for cutting are in poor condition and should be replaced. The fridge was great with an ice maker that kept up to your ice demand. We only bought one bag of ice all week because usually an icemaker cannot make enough. The stove was in need of repair or replacement. The burners did not sit level as it looks like the metal catch basins under the burners were replaced but were not meant for this stove. The burners could not sit in the slots that were in the catch basins which made the burners sit incorrectly. It makes cooking anything difficult as all the liquid flows to one side. It is also somewhat unsafe as items can easily tip over easier as they are on a slant. Other than that the stove was fine. Just an irritant that makes the owners seem cheap even though they may not be. The coffee pot is really old and needs to be replaced. It made poor tasting coffee and it was very stained from age and use. The toaster worked ok, but just ok, however again was in need of replacement. The sink was fine as were the taps but they were a little corroded. There was no dish soap or soap for the dishwasher and no paper towels. Items I feel should be there. One other item that was missing was coffee filters. There were some but not made for this coffee pot.
The bathrooms were adequate but again needed some help and updating. Tubs were older and border line in need of replacement. Vanities and toilets were fine. Wall tiles and paint were in need of updating. They towel holders were outdated but did their job. The second bedroom had a bowl type sink which was more visually pleasing than user friendly. The toilet paper holder was broken and did not sit properly. A $8 fix. The door stopper was broken a $2 fix.
The bedrooms were again, ok but the carpets are in need of replacement. They were also in dire need of a good deep clean if they were not replacing. These carpets were almost a deal breaker for me. I would not return to this unit if the carpets are not replaced.
The difference in this unit experience could have been great instead of just ok if there were some simple updates, some deeper cleans and some replacements of some various amenities.
Here are my examples. TV. It is a large screen TV that is a piece of furniture that takes up a ton of space. It was an awesome TV in its day but is likely 15 or more years old. Again, in its day it was all that but technology has changed a great deal and it needs replacing. The viewing at night time is adequate but in the day time the glare on the screen makes it difficult. The sound was great. The bedroom tube TV's are old very old and in need of replacement as well.
Living room furniture was nice and comfortable.
The wireless internet was available to us. If it wasn't, we would not have booked the unit. It was a must. Unfortunately, the internet speed for today's internet was horrible. It worked intermittently at best. It was slow and froze up regularly. We had two laptops for our needs and neither worked well enough for us to work. I had to go to a cafe to do my necessary work where everything worked fine. It was not acceptable.
Another oddity we experienced was cell phone service. Inside our unit or on the patio there was no service. In the parking lot it was intermittent as well. The providers would change from AT&T to T Mobile and to others. It just seemed that where we were located there was just poor cell service in this area.
The balcony caught us off guard as the view of the sunset was impeded by the condo to the right. Its balcony extended out further than ours and block our units sunsets. We did not know this was the case. Not a deal breaker but would have been nice to know of it prior to booking. The balcony furniture was old and dilapidated. The table especially needs replacing. It was not level and was grimy and had been painted, what looked like, several times. This just makes the owners look cheap and only concerned about getting the rental money. I would like to believe this is not the case.
Outside the negative of the carpets there were some deep clean issues (usually due to the age of the property) that need attention. The baseboards were old, dirty and in need of replacement. From the baseboards and out from them about 6 - 8 inches the tile had signs of discoloration from years of dirt and grime. I believe a deep clean would help while they are replacing the baseboards.
In the end, we will go back to the Ram Sea. The unit however, unless it has some updates to the issues stated I would not re-book it. We have viewed some other units and will book those.
The unit requires updates that cost wise would be only a few thousand dollars. Carpet replacement, TV replacements, Internet speed increase, Baseboard replacement, and a deep clean. Total cost might be $3000 - $3500 to bring this unit to a pristine level and have tenants lined up to use. The unit has provided many years of providing great family memories and deserves something put back into it. The rating for cleanliness is difficult to give an average rating mainly because of the carpets. The staff cleaning it is not at fault at all. The owners must provide regular commercial carpet cleaning if they want to keep any carpet in great shape.

Room Tip: The RAM SEA is a perfect location with the beach being very close and convenient. Look at the photo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JohnESSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hello John:

Thank you for taking the time for a very thorough review. Obviously, we are pleased with positive comments in many areas. We will address the concerns you had with 506 and will also make sure to convey this information as needed. Ram Sea recently underwent a major renovation project. The project involved replacing the west (beach facing) walls and installing a new hurricane rated, sea turtle friendly sliding glass door system in every condo. Needless to say...the project was quite costly. So, the owners are investing in their vacation home in a significant manner. The owners of 506 have done a great deal to the condo and will perhaps do some tweaking soon. Thank you again for taking the time to write. 506 is a favorite of many of our repeat guests and we certainly want to continue that custom.

We here at Ram Sea and JC Resorts definitely enjoy what we do. We appreciate our guest comments and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just got back to the UK after a two week stay at the Ram Sea. We were in room 107 which was lovely . Views over the ocean were stunning .... Especially waking up with the wonderful view from the bedroom ! We have stayed at several places on this part of the Gulf Coast & over the last 20years & up to date found this to be the best yet. The ladies in the reception area couldn't have been more helpful & nothing was too much trouble for them. Apartment clean & well supplied with fresh towels & beds changed weekly.
Already hoping to return sometime soon. Many thanks to all there for making our holiday really restful & hassle free.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Aviator57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hello Aviator57:

Thanks ever so for your wonderful review of Ram Sea 107. When you are happy...we are happy. 107 is very nice and has lots of touches that make it a great "home away from home". The sunsets are world class ...as are our guests.

Bless your heart, thanks again and please...come see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic time in condo 612. It truly has everything you could possibly need (except a hair dryer, but we knew that ahead of time). It even has two blenders (one for margaritas, and the other for kiddie "Rita's"). The beds were very comfy, and we were mesmerized by the incredible view. The pool and hot tub are clean and very nice! This is a great place and we would love to return some day!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank msbien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachin07, General Manager at Ram Sea Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hello MSBien:

Thank you so very much for your excellent review of Ram Sea 612. So glad that y'all were comfortable and happy. You so cannot beat the views, the Gulf and the panoramic sunset vistas each evening. And two blenders...what more could one want? :-)

Oh and next time...we have hair dryers on site...just let us know if you need to borrow one. Please come back and see us soon. Y'all take care...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Ram Sea many times but found this may be my last time. When you pay top pay for a condo you expect it to be above average. If thats what your wanting do not stay in this room. Everything is outdated I almost wanted to donate some money for a new coffee maker and toaster. I would think that they would at least try to paint the place and cover up the water leak on ceiling....
I hate to be so negative but Owners need to take better care of their home away from home its not JC Resorts fault that some of these rooms are dumps but I do feel they should meet some requirements.
The Staff is very nice and helpful !!
All I can say is look close online when you book

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FLIPPER232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Redington Beach
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Sol
The Hotel Sol
#1 of 4 in Redington Beach
434 reviews
0 mi away
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilton Tampa Bay / North Redington Beach
Doubletree Beach Resort by Hilto...
#1 of 6 in North Redington Beach
2,682 reviews
2.5 mi away
Shoreline Island Resort
Shoreline Island Resort
#1 of 15 in Madeira Beach
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malibu Beach Resort
Malibu Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in North Redington Beach
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Island House Resort
Island House Resort
#1 of 2 in North Redington Beach
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ram Sea Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ram Sea Condominiums

Address: 17200 Gulf Blvd, North Redington Beach, FL 33708-1398
Location: United States > Florida > North Redington Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in North Redington Beach
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly beachfront. Fully furnished one, two and three bedroom vacation rentals. All accommodations have full kitchens, living room, dining room and a private balcony directly overlooking the beach and Gulf. On site guest services office, on site staff. Heated pool and Jacuzzi. Beach concessions (cabana rentals, hobie cats, jet skis, aqua cycles, kayaks, etc). Large pool and Jacuzzi deck equipped with tiki huts, beach chairs and chaise lounges. Beach volleyball on site. Next to DoubleTree Hotel offering full restaurant, lounge, beachside dining and tiki bar.Located in the quaint beach town of North Redington Beach. Directly in between St Pete and Clearwater Beaches in the heart of Tampa Bay. Close to restaurants, shopping, water sports, Johns Pass Village, professional sports, arts and entertainment and everything the Tampa Bay Area has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ram Sea Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ram Sea Condominiums Hotel North Redington Beach
Ram Sea Condominiums North Redington Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing