We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family garbage”
Review of Family Table

Family Table
Ranked #19 of 73 Restaurants in North Port
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“family garbage”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

service yuck
food sub standard
price way too much for the meal
dirty and decorated like some back in the day gypsy house

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank tommtoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    25
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant Bland Food!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

As far as restaurants in North Port go, As far as decor goes, The Family Table is one of most beautiful places in N. Port. The dark wood every place in the restaurant, nice booths and plenty of room for large parties. My husband says they do bland well! We have eaten there many times over the past year, but our last visit will probably be our last for a while. The homemade bread is wonderful, however, the rest of the food is non-discript. If they had a new chef at this restaurant, it would be crowded everynight and I'm not just talking about "Season". Their breakfast aren't bad except the bacon is so thin you can see through it. Most of the staff are very friendly and will come over to the table and converse with you expecially one of the men who has been there for quite a while. I just hate to see such a beautiful place have such "Non Discript" food. It does remind me of what "Real" restaurants used to look like except for the poor food. The place is beautiful inside and it is ashame that the food doesn't match the decor.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RitaJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Family Table is a nice restaurant with a varied menu and attentive wait staff. It is not expensive. We have gone there a few times and always had a good inexpensive meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travel0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good dinner & Value”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have passed this place many of times thinking it was a old family diner type place. The name of the restaurant is deceiving. We were pleasantly surprised when we entered. It had a nice classic decor atmosphere (dark wood), a place you could bring a first date and not feel embarrassed :). For a Saturday night in the summer, the place was surprisingly busy. We both had stuffed grouper baked potato (& sweet potato) and it was done very well. On the side, an unexciting salad. The food was good and tasty. However, for me, the portion was a little light, but for the price, I can't complain too much. They gave a nice basket of fresh rolls with the meal. The waiter we had was good and attentive. If you are looking for value, a nice atmosphere and a good meal, this is the place. We definitely will go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Why do people bother going here?”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Unpalatable salad dressing (use the oil and vinegar if you must), frozen seafood, fried to dust-sized bites, and TERRIBLE dessert. In between, there was the beef barley soup, which was bad... really bad. No other soup choices... none.

The only good part of the meal was the freshly-baked bread.

Service slow or non- existent with an overstaffed but near-empty restaurant.

Shockingly, the parking lot was full. But then again, it was senior karaoke night (through the entrance and to the right).

We'll never be back. Maybe that's why they looked over our shoulder to make sure that we'd leave a tip - something we normally wouldn't do for such terrible food and service.

Free bread then completely downhill.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredinFL47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family Table also viewed

 

Been to Family Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing