We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, good food, and nice view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Panama Hattie's - CLOSED

Panama Hattie's
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: PGA Blvd.
Description: You need to experience this place at least once in your lifetime. You pull up to an unassuming PINK building, Panama Hattie's, somewhere during your first beverage and the homemade bread and whipped sweet butter you realize, I'm on vacation. After dinner you jump on a moonlight water cruise just to feel the salty wind in your hair and the good vibes in your belly from dinner. You pass by the Rum Bar's tiki torches and bonfires and it them hits you, this place is part of Panama Hattie's as well! Wow. This place is like Mary Poppins's bag! Your not in Kansas anymore, you are at Panama Hattie's and the Rum Bar, and I don't think you want to leave anytime soon. Enjoy.
Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great service, good food, and nice view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Panama Hatties is right next to the PGA Blvd drawbridge, so if you sit outside at the restaurant or the RumBar, you will be able to view the bridge going up on the hour and half-hour (as long as a tall boat is waiting to pass through). There are some beautiful boats to enjoy as you dine. The wait staff is very friendly and attentive. I don't think my empty water glass sat on the table for more than 10 seconds before our waiter came to refill it. Huge portions (we brought home enough leftover food for a second meal), and we never felt rushed at all. Our waiter even helped give us advice on what to order when we were undecided between two items, and we weren't disappointed in his choice! Yum! We will definitely be coming back here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C4vy579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    78
    67
    30
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are from Georgia and had a Wedding Rehearsal Dinner at this restaurant on Friday, March 15th, 2013. There was a small mixup in the menu details but we went by the restaurant on Friday around noon and the event planner worked everything out. She was so accomodating and everything went perfect. The food was excellent from Steak to Seafood and everyone was more than satisfied. Thanks again for making this a fun satisfying experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gave it another shot and was disappointed again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Went to this tourist trap again, figured everyone needs a second chance. Boy did I get burned again! I am not able to comment on the food because we didn't make it that far before walking out. It took the waitress about 10 minutes to realize that someone had been seated at her table. The lady i was with asked for a baked potato instead of fries and they laughed at her (literally). I will never dine at this establishment again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun place to dine, not gourmet dining though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Most previous reviewers have this place right. It is a fantastic location on the intercoastal with either a 'restaurant' or 'rum bar' option. We found the overall experience to be great, although the food was just OK. Prices were reasonable and you can even take a free 'water taxi' ride on the intercoastal. We preferred the rum bar which was compete with fire pits, tiki torches and two large bar areas. Very fun atmosphere to sit and listen to music and watch the large boats meander by.. If you are after a 'fine dining' experience, this is not the place to go. But if you want a great atmosphere and a reasonable, casual dinner with a few drinks, I highly recommend this spot.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION TERRIBLE FOOD”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The ambiance is great right on the river. The structure is in dire need of a rehab and cleaning. The service is good waiter did not speak english well but understood it ok. The food was just not good. Poor quality ill pre- pared. To bad the place has great potential. Will not return anytime soon. Then only for drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garmac60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panama Hattie's also viewed

Palm Beach Gardens, FL
North Palm Beach, FL
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing