We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure”

Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Lancaster, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We found this restaurant while driving down Rt. 1 hidden in a plaza. The service was excellent, the staff was friendly and best of all the food was wonderful. We both had seafood, which was fresh and cooked to perfection. The prices are reasonable. We enjoyed our visit and would go back on our next visit to Juno Beach. We highly recommend it to anyone who loves seafood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolBob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica Z, Manager at Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you!! We LOVE it when our customers share the same appreciation and passion for REALLY good, REALLY fresh seafood! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    73
    16
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“We were glad our stone crab search ended here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I were staying at nearby PGA National and in need of stone crab claws. A short internet search and conversation with the hotel concierge led us here. What a nice surprise! Thinking it was mostly a market with a few tables we arrived to find a full fledged contemporary seafood bistro and a 1/2 hour wait. We left our names with the hostess and went across the way to a restaurant bar(new Italian) for a drink. Our table was waiting when we got back. We all ordered the large stone crabs and they were terrific, mustard sauce and all, very reasonably priced too. Having grown up going to Joe's in Miami I know a little about stone crabs.Though this isn't that kind of restaurant experience it's not meant to be. We didn't have any of their fish, all nicely displayed in the market counter, but everything is so fresh I'm sure there's good choices to be had. There's a nice little wine list, starters and sides were simply prepared and right in keeping with the style of the place. The service was friendly and efficient. We were very happy to have found C&C and will return whenever in the area.

Helpful?
Thank KIRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica Z, Manager at Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you so much! We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding Fish Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've yet to eat here, but the fish market counter is a favorite and my absolute go-to place for fresh fish in the North Palm Beach/Palm Beach Gardens area. The variety is outstanding, local catch is abundant and while sometimes market prices for what you came for might seem high, there's almost always some other fresh, local fish on sale or otherwise reasonably priced. The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful and they will prepare the fish you select however you want (skinned, boned, filleted, whatever) , as well as give you exactly the size you want.
I will say I've had their prepared peel and eat shrimp out of the fish counter, as well as a deli seaweed salad, and both were fresh, perfectly seasoned and met my expectations in every way. There's a nice selection of accompaniments, including fresh vegetables, wine and beer, condiments and even utensils such as oyster knives; though those are mostly at small corner market prices, it saves a separate trip for the one or two items you need to finish your food shopping.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica Z, Manager at Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you!! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Great food but expect to spend 20 bucks just for fish and chips!!
They have big portions but do have a sharing charge. Food was
great but should be for what is being charged. Would recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica Z, Manager at Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal! Don't forget we have some great sandwiches and seafood rolls starting at just $8! Our Fish & Chips is made with FRESH Day-Boat New England Cod and we are extremely happy to know that you appreciated the quality of the product we work very hard to provide our customers with. Hopefully, our server let you know that the sharing charge includes an additional side and and separate plating. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singer Island, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great fish market and seafood cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I live near this location and go there to purchase fresh seafood. Occasionally have been there for an early dinner. Their fresh seafood is superb . The marketplace is a spin off of their wholesale business, so the fish you get is restaurant quality.
During the Stone Crab season, they offer fresh crabs at VERY good prices.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank yvonnetcruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica Z, Manager at Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your extremely kind words. We are lucky to have people who appreciate how all the facets of our business work together to bring such a unique seafood experience to the area. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe also viewed

 
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
North Palm Beach, FL
 

Been to Cod & Capers Seafood Marketplace and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing