We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unless you like the beach”

John D. MacArthur Beach State Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Reservations accepted the working day after Memorial Day. Groups limited to 25 people.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unless you like the beach”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

According to guidebooks... there was supposed to be a multitude of birds and wildlife. According to a local... the last few years have been void of wildlife and birds but did not know why. If you like the beach you may enjoy coming here in that it is right on the water.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank frugal-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    82
    10
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value and experience.”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great value for $5. I am not a nature person but this was a great nature experience. Felt like I was in a jungle . Huge spiders, lots of birds and fish. The raw open ocean beach brought you back 500 years. The staff was great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheBigGoose1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing and Fun Events!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went here on one of our stays in FL, and we loved it, and have been back three times since! W love the moonlight concerts, bluegrass music, the nature, and most especially the kayaking! We took out the kayaks for 7 hours one day and we saw so many special places. It was a great family experience getting to go boating in kayaks, and being out on the beautiful water. We absolutely had the best time and are actually thinking if buying year passes ( we heard from a friend that they have them, but I am not positive).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angelina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing night!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The last night of my vacation and I have to say it was the most amazing night with the best woman I ever met. Jerri Bilz

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank harlee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beatiful park, can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went there over Labor Day weekend, and it was not crowded at all. We had a lovely time.
Park opens at 8AM, we got there at 8 and the only tough part was to walk over the bridge (from the parking lot to the beach), is not long, maybe 10 min, but when you are carrying all the beach stuff, plus snorkeling gear and you have 2 small children that don't carry much... can be tough :) But it was totally worth it!
They do have a free tram that will take you over the bridge, and operates from 10 am to 4pm.
We took it on our way back.
I read the reviews but forgot to bring a flag to do snorkel. Not a big deal, they rent them at the gift shop for $4 for the day, they open at 9AM.
The beach is really nice, lots of shells, and snorkeing was good, visibility that day was not perfect, but still, good snorkeling time.
They have showers and bathrooms close to the beach. Very convenient.
I will be going back soon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcela a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John D. MacArthur Beach State Park also viewed

 

Been to John D. MacArthur Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing