We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive and Affordable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Monaco N Miami and Sunny Isles Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Monaco N Miami and Sunny Isles Beach
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and Affordable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

My mother and I spent two nights at the Travelodge when we went to Miami to participate in in domestic violence awareness march. As both of us had been traveling since 4am, the woman at the front desk graciously allowed us to check-in early -- around 11am. Throughout our entire stay, the front desk staff and the doormen were extremely friendly and helpful.

Our room was on the second floor - 210. It could definitely have used some updating, the carpet, furniture and bedding were older, but everything was in decent repair. The room and adjoining bathroom were impeccably clean.

My only complaint is that the maid didn't clean our room one day. She knocked on the door at 9am and we told her we weren't quite ready to leave yet. She saw us depart at around 10am but didn't go back to make the beds or even just drop off fresh towels.

Overall, I found the hotel to be quite a value for the money. Though older, the grounds and room was clean and well cared for. With the one exception of the maid, the staff was friendly, attentive and accommodating. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieR82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    87
    125
    68
    82
See reviews for
129
109
33
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2011

Tiny little hotel with an excellent location. It is situated between two towering new hotels right on the beach, across from restaurants and shops. The price was great for a place to crash for one night, but wouldn't stay more than that. The hotel had a bar, restaurant, pool, game room, ice machine, and a computer for use. The hotel is older, could have used many updates, and a good cleaning. But, it was in a safe neighborhood and had no bugs. The staff was helpful. We also were required to pay an add'l fee to park.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iskuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

We where only in Miami 1 night and how please we both were, it was our last day in the USA and we where flying home the next day. When we arrived we thought it looked strange all the high rise posh hotels around us and this dump of a hotel that looked like it needed to be condemed any day. The pro's of being there was the beach straight out the back of the hotel was beautiful, but you had to walk thruogh what looked like a broken down shack that must have been a bar/nightspot to get through. The public bus service was straight outside of the hotel which was very convient and there was a Dennys Walgreens and MCDonalds over the road, but the room itself was red hot no aircon, the bed was clean, we had a small bathroom with a shower and no shower curtain. I wouldn't recomend this hotel to anyone if you where staying longer than 1 night and only if you couldn't afford a decent one.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkMacyslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these North Miami Beach hotels

Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

If it were not for the fact that I was only staying for one night and I was on a budget, I would not have stayed here. The staff was polite but a couple I encountered were unprofessional. They were engaging in the type of conversation that should not take place in front of customers. The room was freezing cold and there was no way to regulate the temperature because there was no thermostat in the room. The door to the room looked as though it was previously kicked in. The dresser drawers were falling apart, the mini fridge was filthy, the ceiling in the bathroom was caving in, the toilet was lopsided, the cabinet door under the sink was lopsided and falling of the hinges and there was a series of sloppy patch work and paint jobs on the walls of the bathroom. However, there were three pros. One was the location of the hotel, I love Sunny Isles Beach and it's close to Aventura Mall. Second, the beach is absolutely gorgeous. Last but not least, the bed was very comfortable. It's possible that the superior rooms were in much better condition, however, I will never know because I do not plan to stay at this hotel again. Unfortunately, the pros do not out weight the cons.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kismetvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

I could summarize this hotel with one word: shocking, or even two words: totally shocking, but tor purposes of writing a descriptive review that's useful i wont.

On booking this hotel we knew it wasnt going to be amazing, but at $80 we thought it might at least be decent, and the description portrayed it to be a "resort" with a pool, a pool side bar and clean, comfortable rooms. It wasn't.

On arrival we were greeted by a building that looked as though it was in the middle of a demolition, they charged $8 for parking, and the pool was shut due to them painting it. Apparently it was going to he closed for a day but by 7pm it hadn't even drained yet. I wouldn't be surprised if it was actually a murder scene. The smaller pool had already been filled with soil. What was hidden under there? If we were hoping to console ourselves with a drink at the poolside bar that was also right out. It was also closed and looked like it had been since 1985.
X
The room looked as though it should have been rented by the hour and smelt as though it had been. The sink was almost coming off the wall and only needed a small house spider to cross its path to make it fully come away from the wall.
The door had a security chain and a dead bolt on it. Great impression for security then.

The stairwell doorway near to our room needed a serious case of wd40 and they appeared to have purchased the only triangle wheeled trolley left in the world to push up and down every 5 minutes.

The hotel staff were over helpful to try and get you to give them a tip. We didn't. They offered to give us a menu for room service, I assume they meant for food but we declined due to the fact we didn't wqnt to be on a drip in a hospital bed for the remainder if our holiday.

In summary, dont visit this hotel,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JN_hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybee island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

not a bad place to stay! This place looks kinda strange with all the condos and high rises around it, but i would stay here again for the price and the beach is nice with only a short bus ride or walk to haulover beach!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thor1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

Vacation June 9-15

I read the reviews beforehand and gave it a try. This is the best place to stay for a quiet relaxing vacation, it only fills up on weekends. I stayed 7 days and I'm ready to plan my next stay. This beach is heavily foreign speaking so if you like hearing other languages go here. I met people from Great Britain, Israel, Africa, Columbia, Venezuela, and others and since i'm trying to learn spanish, it was great being around them. Even at McDonalds listening to them place orders was great.
Go to the beach early in the morning it isn't crowded and you can swim and layout just listening to the ocean. If no car, Across the street is Walgreens, Dennys, McDonalds, foreign restaurants, and 2 blocks further KFC and Burger King. free wifi Dennys and McDonalds. Do your research, Sunny Isles offers a free shuttle to the gigantic Aventura Mall and all over the city. There are 4 metrobus stops right out front that will take you to Southbeach or anywhere else for $2.00 one way, the bus even runs from MIA to Travelodge Monaco, $4.00 trip one way, a cab is $54.00.
Talk to the people checking you in, there is a shuttle that makes 3 trips to South beach but only between 4-8pm. The free breakfast is boiled eggs,toast and jelly,trail mix, with coffee or orange juice. Adults used the pool in the mornings and kids evenings. Bring a good book to read, most evenings you can see 3 or 4 people sitting outside their room doors just reading and watching. And a warning, learn the tides for the ocean. their are bouys far out in the water that you can swim to, in the morning the water can be 6ft or more but afternoons you can walk out to the bouys and the water is just waist high the whole time. Enjoy the area. I had such a good time I didn't bother going to South Beach. I can't wait to go back.
Ricky

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricky555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Miami Beach
0.1 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Newport Beachside Hotel and Resort
Newport Beachside Hotel and Reso...
#6 of 9 in Sunny Isles Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Monaco N Miami and Sunny Isles Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Monaco N Miami and Sunny Isles Beach

Property: Travelodge Monaco N Miami and Sunny Isles Beach
Address: 17501 Collins Ave, North Area Sunny Isles, North Miami Beach, FL 33160-2822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > North Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Monaco N Miami and Sunny Isles Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Monaco N Miami and Sunny Isles Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Monaco/n Miami/Sunny Isles Hotel North Miami Beach
Travelodge Sunny Isles Beach
Travelodge North Miami Beach
Travel Lodge North Miami Beach
North Miami Beach Travelodge
North Miami Beach Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing