We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1950s Beachfront Hotel With Old Fashioned Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Monaco N Miami and Sunny Isles Beach
Reviewed February 24, 2007

My wife and I had to go to south Florida on very short notice and we booked the Monaco because it was the only Hotel I called where a person actually picked up the phone instead of a message machine. I already knew about the Monaco from staying in Sunny Isles as a child, when it had dozens of small hotels. Only 5 of these are left, and one of them (Ocean Palm) is scheduled for demolition. They have been replaced by giant, expensive, characterless condos, and the contrast could not be greater. The 2 story Monaco now sits next to a 50 story (!) tower. The Monaco has two types of guests: people in their 70s who have probably been going there for decades, who sit in the lobby and play cards or lounge by the pool, and younger guests like me who can appreciate the hotel's character and service. If you like a hotel that was built in the 50s, has a lobby and room that look their age, and gives you a safe, affordable, authentic 1950s style Florida experience, you will love it. If you don't, you will whine about it as some other reviewers have done. The Monaco does have a few problems: the cable TV didn't get channels 3-7 clearly, our door creaked when opened, the bar and restaurant were both closed for remodeling when we were there, the walls were thin enough to hear neighbors talking and the parking lot is tiny (most was sold off to the giant condo). They do have a very efficient system of double parking the cars and leaving keys at the front desk to best use the few spaces remaining. Luckily most of the older guests don't drive. And like most Florida hotels it has no heat, which was tricky when it got down to 43 degrees one night, the coldest it had been in south Florida in 2 years. We kept our pajamas on that night and we were fine. So none of these problems interfered with our stay. The room was cozy and we slept very well, the guests and staff were friendly, we loved the pool and beach, and had a great time there. Make sure to get a poolside or oceanview room, though (which is most of them); the rest look at an empty lot next door where another tower is sure to be going up soon.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank snowrefugees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Monaco N Miami and Sunny Isles Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 378 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2007

Location, location, location!!! This stretch of the beach is around $300/night minimum for the newer hotels. We were pre-cruise for only one night and paid $101 (AAA rate) with all taxes and fees except parking ($8) for a Saturday night (Jan, 2007). It is a dated hotel, but clean. The staff are friendly and helpful, the beds are comfortable, although the room was a little cool at night. The restaurant is closed, but there are many others in walking distance. The pool looks clean and well kept, but we didn't use it. The sunrise was spectacular. Did I mention the LOCATION??

Stayed: January 2007
Thank dasisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

This is one of the last of the '50's hotels on N Miami Beach/Sunny Isles. Its one of the nicest stretches of beach in FL, but since these old hotels have been bought out, no one maintains them. They are just booking the rooms until Trump tells them it's time to go. Really a shame.

This hotel no longer has a restaurant or bar as the description implies. They do not charge a $6 day resort fee any longer, but you must pay $3 per day per beach chair. Didn't see any bugs, but it is January. Pool was clean, sheets were clean, no individual a/c control in rooms (room was way too cold at night), but that is typical of the 50's places. Water pressure could be better, but what can you expect for $95 a night?

Within a year or so the only way to stay on that stretch of the beach is to pay $350 and up per night.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sharron24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

This hotel is a little old, the rooms are a little smaller than the average hotel, there is no elevator (its only 2 floors)...

However, it is RIGHT on the beach, there is a pretty big pool, They clean teh rooms everyday, theres a denny's right across the street, and a wallgreens, anything you need is there...

The rooms have cable tv, little fridges which come in handy, the staff is nice, they have shuttles to and from south beach, the aventura mall, and other places...

Overall its a nice little hotel, situated right in between other BIG expensive condo/hotels. I paid $115 a night for new years week. You can expect much more. Your on the beach, and not paying too much for it.. what else can you ask for? yes its not the cleanest place, but theres an arcade in the hotel, free newspaper.. and location is great. You get what you pay for.. for $200 a night you can get something better..ask yourself if its worth it....look around before you book.. can usually find a cheaper rate for the hotel on other wbsites.. then call them and tell them you found it they will match it...


any q's email me @ brklynjib at aol.com

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brklynjib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2006

Very old and dirty! Hotel needs renovating! Pictures on the web are not an accurate picture of what the hotel looks like now! The first room was disgusting, no hot water faucet on sink, hair in tub and sink, carpet very dirty and torn in places, had no individual room theromstat. Staff came down to check vents and found an old moldy towel in the vents. Had to have a fan as well as it was too warm in the room! Moved to a second room the next day. It was a little better but still needed a lot of attention. On a positive note, the staff was extremely nice and helpful! They worked as best they could with the facility they had.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
2  Thank bmtdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2006

Feel a bit mixed about the monaco... after reading the reviews decided to chance it - as we wanted a beach front hotel - and were only staying for one night after checking out of another unpleasnt unsafe hotel. After a quick read of the reviews - most stated that the hotel was tired and in need of revamp, but clean.
Was allowed to check in at 11 as they had availablity - no extra charge - very helpful and freindly front desk staff - dumped bags in room - we thought that it looked like old man's bachelor pad that needed updating. went to beach for fantastic day of swimming etc - and then drive out to south beach at night. It was only on our return at 9pm - that we saw the reality of our surroundings - was afriad to touch shower curtain as looked grubby - and although sheets on bed were very very clean - the blanket and throw had stains on them, and did not look clean, and would not use them. room felt dark and dingy - because of lack of natural light - and was bemused by lack of air con! But with the beach being where it was - we did not spend much time in the room.
however mood and feel of hotel / staff was postive and we had a good stay, but main attraction was definatly location. Feel I would prob look for hotel in similiar area and pay that extra.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank westcotesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

My family rents at this hotel whenever there's a special occasion or just want to get away. Its a nice spot to hang out by the pool or the beach and the staff doesn't bother you unless you're making rediculous noise after dark. The parking is inconvenient though, you can't go as you please. But other than that, the Monaco is a pretty comfortable place to stay. Just get an ocean view room with a full kitchen it feels like you could live there. The prices are so affordable there's no reason not to stay ther.

Stayed: July 2005
2  Thank k q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Miami Beach
0.1 mi away
Sole on the Ocean
Sole on the Ocean
#3 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,845 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach Resort
Days Hotel - Thunderbird Beach R...
#8 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marenas Beach Resort
Marenas Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
Golden Strand Ocean Villa Resort
#5 of 10 in Sunny Isles Beach
290 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ocean Point Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Monaco N Miami and Sunny Isles Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Monaco N Miami and Sunny Isles Beach

Address: 17501 Collins Ave, North Area Sunny Isles, North Miami Beach, FL 33160-2822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > North Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Miami Beach
Price Range: $60 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Monaco N Miami and Sunny Isles Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Travelodge Monaco N Miami and Sunny Isles Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Monaco/n Miami/Sunny Isles Hotel North Miami Beach
Travelodge Sunny Isles Beach
Travelodge North Miami Beach
Travel Lodge North Miami Beach
North Miami Beach Travelodge
North Miami Beach Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing