We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic”

The Ancient Spanish Monastery
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Brought from Spain and reassembled by William Randolph Hearst in 1925, this is a popular wedding spot.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Historic”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Old monastery was neat due to age. A few walking trails (short) and a small museum. A little expensive for what was there but glad that we took the time to stop and check it out.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sparkythebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    62
    15
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth the trip...would love a little more info”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had done some brief research before visiting and expected more info once we were there. It's $8pp to get in and they give you a small brochure with minimal background. We had to use our phone to google more in-depth details of what we were looking at.

The place is peaceful...our day was not busy and we had plenty of time to explore at our pace and light a couple candles. The chapel was closed but when my husband tried to peek in, a staff member willingly opened it and turned the lights on for us. Overall, a very cool experience and worth the time spent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Bamn9497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
117 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Indiana Jones & the Ancient Monastery...”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Nothing is cooler than 800 year old ruins...unless you could cut out travel time, booby traps & pay a mere $8 to go back in time. Perfect for the family with an imagination but a limited budget for archaeological expeditions. My 9 year old is still talking about this and now owns an Indiana Jones whip...

Helpful?
1 Thank mamaconnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of a kind!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Crazy history! an old monastery from Segovia Spain dating back 1200 years was bought by the Hearst family, disassembled, and sent via boat to California, but never made it. Got stuck and reassembled in Miami! Padre Alberto, the former catholic priest that got caught with a woman, then married the woman in this monastery as an Epicopalian. Greynolds Park a few blocks away is the best park in Miami . the two together make a great afternoon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank johnny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Travelling back in time ...”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Love this place for photo opportunities ... the history is fantastic and the light shining through the trees make for nice photos any time of the day. It's not very big so you won't get tired walking around. I went their early in the morning and plan to return next time I am back down in Miami.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ancient Spanish Monastery also viewed

 

Been to The Ancient Spanish Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing