We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the upcharge” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captiva House

Captiva House
Reserve with OpenTable
Captiva House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $42
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge
Description: Welcome to the historic, award-winning Captiva House Restaurant, Gulf-front at the legendary, historic 'Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa. We invite you to sample our delicious New Florida cuisine, served with our gorgeous Captiva Island sunsets. Come, feast your eyes and your appetites tonight.
Port Washington, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the upcharge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The food is slightly more upper scale, but the reality is when I'm at the beach, I want fresh fish and food I can sink my teeth into. Maybe I'm not the customer they are attempting to attract, but the cost increase was not justified by the food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank skippy4218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason m, Manager at Captiva House, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Dear skippy 4218,
I am sorry we seemed to miss the mark with your dining experience here at the Captiva House. We do read and take all our reviews seriously and use them as tools to better serve our guests in the future. I hope to see you back again soon at the Captiva House. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    178
    75
    21
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quality place in beach country”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a great meal at this restaurant and the service was very good. Sea bass was phenomenal, tuna was fresh and steak was done perfectly for my wife. Only downside is a steep corkage fee ($24) even though we also bought a bottle of champagne. The wine list isn't terribly extensive and we brought a great pinot that went well with the meal. They need to work on their policy for bringing a good bottle.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our last night on Sanibel we celebrated our anniversary at the Old Captiva House restaurant. It is old Florida elegance and gourmet food. The restaurant dates back to the 1930's. I had crab soup, salad and red snapper which was absolutely delicious. The service was very good. The view out the window of the ocean across the road made for a wonderful anniversary dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank waterteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

My compliments to the chef!! Amazing dinner. All six of our crew loved their meals. Price was comparable to any higher end restaurant. Highly recommended

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wyowinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Sauce for Real Margharitas and Fried Onion Sticks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Arrived here for drinks and snacks after sunset. We had the best waitress "CASEY", she knew we were not going to be a big ticket and treated us like family. You Rock Casey! also there was a guy singer/ musician Billy something who was terrific,lots of Bob Seger and country songs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Snorkelfun5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captiva House also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing