We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great”
Review of Captiva House

Captiva House
Reserve with OpenTable
Captiva House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood, American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge
Description: Welcome to the historic, award-winning Captiva House Restaurant, Gulf-front at the legendary, historic 'Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa. We invite you to sample our delicious New Florida cuisine, served with our gorgeous Captiva Island sunsets. Come, feast your eyes and your appetites tonight.
Metropolis, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The food was good but not the best. Service was poor. Could not get a second glass of tea and had to beg to get the bill.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    183
    77
    21
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just Delicious”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Enjoyed dinner at this fine dining spot on Captiva. Wonderful service, and fabulous food. Was very pleasantly surprised how beautifully presented as well as absolutely delicious the food was. Had been told by friends to come here, but the restaurant food exceeded my expectations. I was with my mom. We both appreciate great food. Though my fish was great, I think that the snapper wrapped in phyllo really did stand out. If I go back, that is what I am getting next time. I only say if, because this is a vacation spot for me, and I am not sure when I will get back. Hopefully, sooner rather than later.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent evening! Great food and great service.”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Have been there several times in the past it was always good. They now have a new food and beverage manager who's has made it's even better. We noticed he visited every table to insure that they were happy with everything. If you we're there in the past and decided it wasn't for you gu e it a second chance.. I do not think you will be disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byda48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great food, service and atmosphere made for a lovely evening with friends.”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Went to dinner with a group of 4 and we were all very pleased with our food and service. The Food and Beverage manager, Jason Miller was out among the guests making sure we had everything we wanted and were enjoying our meals.
We would definitely return to this lovely restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tpcostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardners, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My family has eaten breakfast here several times and loved it. You can sit inside or out. The patio is lovely to eat on. Breakfast bar had many selections and was yummy. Family friendly

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captiva House also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing