We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Captiva Island

“Wonderful experience.”
Review of Green Flash

Green Flash
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our first visit to Capitiva and we spent our first dinner at Green Flash. What a wonderful experience. Unfortunately, it was dark, so we didn't get to enjoy the marvelous view. But, the service (thank you, Sarah!!!) was fantastic. You can always tell good waitstaff that does't write down your order. One of our party of five changed their order, and she still got it all right. The food came out quickly, HOT and delicious! Three of our party ordered the special (red snapper). The portions were plentiful, and it was delicious., The sides (fresh grilled zucchini, squash and onions) and choice of starch was wonderfully prepared. The other two (one ordered stuffed shrimp and the one ordered sea scallops) were plentiful, hot and delicious. Will definitely return again during our two week stay.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Huge menu variety including fish, shellfish, chicken, veal, pork and beef. Great location with large windows providing beautiful views of the bay. Excellent attentive service with excellent food.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Verne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

The Green Flash is more than a place to eat. The drive out to Captiva by car segues you out of commercial undertones of SWFlorida and self-conscious Sanibel Island. Captiva maintains an atmosphere of latent richness and mystery. If you go at night, you'll notice the absense of artificial light. When you reach the Green Flash, you'll be ready for the upbeat vibe of the restaurant and the welcoming staff. Even though you're on a barrier island at the edge of the Gulf, the warmth of the restaurant and its variety of good eating choices will not only make you feel ready for a good meal, but assure you that all will go well. My main comfort food choice is usually salmon, and the Green Flash does not disappoint. My wife is more venturous, and has gobbled up each of her various selections. The Green Flash is a traditional port of call for us since the early 1990s. They continue to satisfy.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

My wife and I had lunch here on a Tuesday in early January 2020. We are senior citizens and tourists. It was a sunny day and there were a lot of cars driving around the village of Captiva, mostly searching for places to park because a parking space is such a rare thing in Captiva, so we were happy that we could park at Green Flash without waiting, for free, and get seated immediately at a window table with magnificent view. This building looks a bit odd from the street, not really looking like a restaurant, but the restaurant is good and the bar seems popular and lively. Our food was fine. Honestly I don't recall what we ate for lunch at Green Flash 4 days ago, forgive my forgetfulness, but I know we were happy and there were no problems. The waitress was good. After 2 hours of driving, we badly needed a rest and a lunch, and this place did very well. Recommended.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020

Ate at the bar, Vas was tremendous! Our family of four voted The Green Flash the best meal we had in Captiva!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 444MT444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Flash also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Green Flash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing