We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip up from Sanibel”
Review of Green Flash

Green Flash
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth the trip up from Sanibel”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We have been here several times, try to make it up at least once while vacationing on Sanibel. The menu is heavy on seafood, but has sufficient variety to meet just about any preference. The food is uniformly excellent, many dishes prepared with a twist and the chef's touch, but never weighed down with seasonings or exotic combinations designed to feed the chef's ego rather than the patrons. Service is attentive, informed, personable and just right -- you are neither ignored nor hovered over. The environment is conducive to a leisurely meal, and the view (faces the sound, not the Gulf) is excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seab67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    512
    222
    111
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“PERFECTION!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We actually had two meals with this restaurant. The first one was actually delivered to our beach house on the night of our arrival. We had fettuccine with shrimp and it was AMAZING. The owner actually delivered it and gave us instructions on how to serve it. She could not have been more helpful and enjoyable.
A few nights later we visited the actual restaurant with a large group. It was a very relaxing and calm environment with an amazing view. We enjoyed great service and delicious food.
The highlight of the night was a trip to the restrooms. We will leave the surprise for when you visit!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank keywestlover13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not what it use to be”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have gone to the Green Flash for years when on vacation in Ft. Myers Beach. This time it did not make an impression on us. We will visit it again when we are over there just to see if we got them on a bad day but it's always been so very good over the years.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank marykhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“best food on captiva.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Very good food.
Service was fair, 4 star food, 3 star service, very nice bay view, (Before dark), after dark, 10 min walk to mucky duck for sunset.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ftl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice view!”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our family of six was looking for a seafood restaurant with a water view. Green Flash was a perfect choice. The water view was perfect.. The restaurant is on the fancy side but we felt comfortable in our shorts. The server was not very friendly but the food was good. The prices were on the expensive side but not any more than the Bubble Room. We would definitely return just for the view.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allboysMom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Flash also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Green Flash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing