We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water view restaurant with Great Food”
Review of Green Flash

Green Flash
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Water view restaurant with Great Food”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Was surprised by the great taste of the FOOD...and excellent job on cooking the scallops....so my compliments to the CHEF! could work on plate presentation but not complaining because of the fact that they did not overcook the scallops. Many restaurants do which to me ruins the dish. There were 3 of us for dinner and each of us enjoyed our dishes....the scallops, the veal dish, and the shrimp salad... all dishes very rated very highly.... we only had one Delicious appetizer.... which was the oysters rockefeller, there were only suppose to be 5 oysters on dish but since there were 3 of us, the Chef added one more so each of us had 2 oysters. This was a sign of a Great Chef that CARES about the food he send out of the kitchen. Green Flash overlooks the Bay.. ..decor is nothing special and very simple. but the white table clothes did add a touch of elegance to the place. . Would definitely eat there again for the taste of the food and the water view.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kraftite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    506
    218
    108
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
192 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were here off-season. This is probably the most "posh" of the restaurants on Captiva island. Food is good. They try to give everyone a window-view. Waiters were very professional.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KCA_DG-IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Food...great view of Bay”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My dinner was excellent...all I eat is seafood when I'm in FLA, so this evening was a wonderful Penne Pasta dish with scallops and lobster...delicious!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaptivaMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view and very good dinner”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

What other reviewers said is true - the view from the dining room is great. We could see fish jumping near the dock as we ate dinner. From the outside it does not look very impressive, but inside it's fancier than you would expect. I had the bbq shrimp with bacon and my wife had the angel hair pasta with shrimp and lobster. Key lime pie was different and I'm not sure successful - sherbet and not particularly limey. Service was good and with 2 entries, dessert and soup, the bill was $60.
Very impressive how the servers carried a full tray of dinners down a steep flight of stairs to outside seating by the dock.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank psteinhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great dinner poor key lime pie”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a great diner but were very disappointed in the key lime pie it was a frozen pie not fresh made like we had at other places during the week

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pdbeardog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Flash also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Green Flash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing