We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long wait for really good food”

Sunshine Seafood Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Sylva, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“long wait for really good food”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Even though we were one of only two tables being served at an early lunch, we waited eons for our fish sandwiches. But they were sssooooooo much better than the loveless, slapped together fish sandwiches we had a DocFords two days earlier, so we were extremely happy! And what is the rush, really?. It was fresh and tasty with delicious wine and cold tea....mmmm, happy campers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    181
    62
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunshine Seafood Cafe”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed in Captiva for 5 days and decided to try this restaurant based on reviews we read. We sat outside on the porch and started with the scallop and goat cheese appetizer. Yummy!! For dinner I had the red snapper, but my husband tried the fish special with a cranberry salsa, which we thought sounded intriguing. Mine was very good but his meal was scrumptious! Our server was patient when explaining food and wine choices. All in all, everything was more than satisfactory and we will return when we come back to this wonderful island!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMI720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I want to start off saying that any poor or bad review of this restaurant needs to be taken with a grain of salt… My husband and I went here tonight. I was a bit nervous because of the mixed reviews. The meal was fabulous as well as the service. Our waitress Robin was so sweet, attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu. We started off with the mussel appetizer and house salad. The mussels were cooked to perfection and the broth was delicious. Robin made sure there was enough bread (which was also wonderful) to dip into the broth! My husband had the rack of lamb and I had the Chilean sea bass special. Both plates were cooked to perfection and had so much flavor. I did not want my plate to end. Generous portions that left us so full that we unfortunately, could not order dessert. My husband and I have a few days left on the island and I think we will come back for our last dinner before we head home.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We went to dinner while visiting Captiva. Main seating is outdoors but it can be tricky when its raining. Service was good. Server very helpful. I ordered a Caesar salad with blackened chicken and a cup of gumbo. The salad was great but the chicken was very dry. The gumbo was the best I've had in a long time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan33637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal on Captiva”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Visited Captiva Island April 12 to the 18th and had dinner every night at a different restaurant. Sunshine Seafood -Cafe and Wine Bar was by far the best restaurant for service and food. Upon arrival at the restaurant with a party of six the hostess informed us that we would have a short wait of about 15 minutes for a table. She was correct and we were promptly seated outside on the porch. The waitress gave our party a nice greeting, introduced herself and made our party feel very welcome. She gave us the menu and explained in detail the specials for the night. Each of the party members had a different appetizer and entree. Their Florida Seafood Gumbo , Fresh Red Snapper Picatta and numerous desserts were all excellent. . The wine and beer menu was varied and reasonably price. The opinion off our complete party was that this was their best restaurant experience and on the next trip to this island we all would go back to Sunshine Seafood Cafe.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank winterislandpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Seafood Cafe also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sunshine Seafood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing