We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to eat.”

Sunshine Seafood Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat.”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have eaten here twice. The first time was June 2012, I ordered the Sunshine Paella, and it was SPECTACULAR!!! I couldn't believe how good it was!! So when we arrived on Captiva this past June 2013, Sunshine Seafood was our first stop as soon as we carried our luggage into the rental. I again ordered the Paella. It was ok, nothing great. I was a little bit disappointed, but will certainly try it again next year. I love the location, very close to the street we vacation on.........we can walk to this restaurant. Outdoor seating is nice, haven't been inside. Laid-back beach restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monet3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    181
    62
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent food...”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Have now dined at Sunshine Seafood Café several times and each time the food has been excellent. Especially like the cedar plank blackened salmon with the spicy mango dressing. Atmosphere is inviting too with outdoor dining on the porch and an interesting selection of music. Dined here last March on a Friday night and the live music was delightful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler3835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Last Meal In Captiva”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stopped here after our Dolphin cruise at south seas resort for a quick dinner. What a nice surprise...Appetizer were insanely good. We had the goat cheese scallops, the Crab cakes and the Mussels...Ask for extra bread to sop up those juices from the mussels. YUMMY!!! the appetizers were reasonably priced. Wine was Pricey..but it's Captiva!!! Highly Recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MisEchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“went back again during stay”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

in previous trips to captiva never noticed this restaurant as near a flashy beach inflatatable raft shop. gave it a try and it was GREAT. we ate out on porch in the rain and it was charming. wait staff provided old school mosquite coils which worked like a charm. we had amazing goat cheese and scallops as appitizer portion was huge and delicious. my husband had paella which he enjoyed very much. i had seafood pasta..great but too much to eat. our second visit we just had entree, husband had fresh catch and i had seafood pasta again. enjoyed it equally. we plan to go back again..hope they will keep the goat cheese scallops on menu!!
great job guys thanks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmvk23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Good value, charming, helpful staff, location is not great but food makes up for it. Seafood specials were great on both our visits, and keylime pie was great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Impressionstoinspire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Seafood Cafe also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sunshine Seafood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing