We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and understaffed”

Sunshine Seafood Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced and understaffed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The majority of seating is outside and we saw only 2 staff members in the 2 hours we were there. They came highly recommended but missed the mark with my family. Fish was overcooked and seemed to be a frozen product. (I run a fish market in New England) We have a time share at south seas and will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bainchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    180
    62
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OMG! This is the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed at SouthSeas Island Resort and I called them to make a dinner reservation on a nice restaurant for Mother's Day.
They couldn't give me a better choice then Sunshine Seafood Cafe.
Food was amazing.
Service is really good.
Too bad that I live in Miami...
But I will come back on day.
My wife had a perfect Mother's Day Dinner,
Thank you guys.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neymarjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stopped in later in the evening for a small bite. We shared the "Iona Shrimp and Scallops" appetizer. I had a house salad and my husband had the "Pecan Crusted Goat Cheese Salad" . Food was excellent and so was the service! Will definitely be back for dinner!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lordylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food and very creative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Drove by many times, then stopped one day. Best decision of the trip. Small place, sat outside on the porch. Food is done to perfection and very very creative. Try it....

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A favorite for years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The food is tasty - some of the best on Sanibel/Captiva. The place is very small, however, and during the day you'll want to sit outside on the porch. The inside is small, cramped, and dark. Since we don't care for the inside seating we always go for lunch and can only rate that. The menu is small but good. A different carrot cake - almost brownie-like - is worth saving room for.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank soamist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Seafood Cafe also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sunshine Seafood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing