We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing seafood”

Sunshine Seafood Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

By far the best meal of the week, very fresh seafood with an interesting menu and nice wine list. It's very small, and pretty slow - call first, we saw several people leave after waiting a while. Great for a leisurely dinner. (Beer and wine only)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank missgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    180
    62
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great service and even greater food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Finally! I real fresh dinner! We had been to a few restaurants before this one and were not quite as happy as we should have been for the price. But someone recommended the sunshine seafood cafe and we were so pleased! I had one of their specials with pesto pasta fresh blackened grouper and blackened shrimp. Let me tell you, AMAZING! My brother had the fresh yellowfin tuna and it was absolutely to die for! It was light and flakey. Well worth the price. The staff was so sweet and hospitable to my family of 5 (who can be kind of loud at some points) and always made us feel welcomed and definitely did not judge us when we walked into the restaurant. Best dinner here on the island so far! I would totally recommend it to anyone in the area; visiting or local.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Livin_lively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great place with the family or a couple. Great food and service. My favorite place to eat on the island regarding the food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RavensFootball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A nice change!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

We were staying at a place nearby and decided to try this place. All our food was excellent, service very good. Freshest seafood we'd had since arriving on Captiva. Would have liked to sit in air condition, however, the ambience was very tropical. All of us would return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleMac2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Had a super meal outside on the veranda. We had a look about other restaurants close by and we were only here for the day so wanted to get it right. Well it did not disappoint! Although yes it is more expensive than others we have visited on the gulf coast it was well worth it. Very attentive service but as said before not intrusive. My husband had the rack of lamb, he had been going to go for the special, the waiter recommended the lamb as well and he was so glad he had. I had the scallop and shrimp linguine and it was lovely, my son ate off the kids menu and went for the corn flake coated chicken, I did have to scrape this off as he didn't like it but ate the lot after I had done this, That's just kids for you. I would highly recommend to anyone to visit, we may not get the chance to travel back as we are up in the rotonda area but if we do visit in the future this will definately be on our list. Thank you Sunshine Cafe for such a lovely meal to end our perfect day on the Island.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3lauries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine Seafood Cafe also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sunshine Seafood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing