We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place in Nice Location”
Review of The Mucky Duck

The Mucky Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Place in Nice Location”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

It did not open until 1130 so there was a line formed at 1115 on the windy, cooler day we went. Everyone in line got seated upon opening and service was good, prompt, and kid friendly. The fare is simple, but done fairly well. Captiva has a strange habit of deep frying fresh fish. Where I come from we fry fish only because it is never fresh.

If you are renting nearby then just walk the beach there instead of dealing with parking. It will feel way more like vacation as opposed to commuting. Go for lunch>dinner if with family as pricing and atmosphere better then.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orthodromic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    909
    920
    479
    204
    125
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Grouper Sandwich”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stopped at The Mucky Duck for lunch with a group of friends! We all had an outstanding meal! I had the fried grouper sandwich which was terrific! It was a beautiful filet with a light crunchy breading on a very fresh Kaiser roll. It was fantastic! My husband had the Oyster Po'Boy, which he thought was great! It came loaded with fried oysters! If you are looking for a great meal in Captiva - this is the place to go!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeniBGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
146 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset, nice music... Food OK”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The Mucky Duck is "the" place to watch the sunset on Captiva! Outdoor music on the patio is great; relaxing, nice atmosphere. The food is a step up from basic "bar" food, but nothing special. We had crab cakes and steamed shrimp, which were basic/bland. Good place to eat with children - simple menu with many choices. Wine selection was limited.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location, but not worth the money”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I've had lunch here and still thought it was too pricey; decent food but not for the money. Had dinner here with a client this week and neither of us were impressed. Very good service, but the food was unimpressive (except for the appetizer (Duck Duck Shrimp-fried shrimp in a spicy garlic honey mustard sauce), which was delicious. I wish I'd just gotten two orders of that as a meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncjefffl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duluth mn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shrimply delicious”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Possibly the best meals of the week for all four us. I love shrimp, bacon and BBQ sauce. Put the three together on plate with a glass of Fat Tire on the side and a great pub atmosphere - makes a good meal!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelmoreDuluthMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mucky Duck also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Mucky Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing