We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special but OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mucky Duck

The Mucky Duck
Price range: $17 - $33
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nothing special but OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

My wife had the fish and chips which she liked very much. I had the chicken wings which were tough to say the least. I have never left a chicken wing uneaten until now. The atmosphere is nice and the beer is cold.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluebell55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    889
    464
    198
    119
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
“Excellent "fish n' chips", lovely Gulf beachside location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The service was very good, Michelle is the perfect hostess; all-in -all a pleasant eating experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 412Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, AZ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Could Have Been a Better Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Visiting friends in Sanibel Island who took us to check out Captiva Island. We parked in The Mucky Duck parking lot and as the 6 of us got out of our vehicle, we were immediately approached by a burly individual who said, “Hey – if you’re not eating here, you can’t park here!” My husband and I immediately checked out the posted menu, and agreed that we could eat there. Our friend who drove us told the individual he just wanted to take a couple minutes to show us the beach there, and the guy said, “No! You can’t! This is a PRIVATE beach! You’re gonna have to move your vehicle!” Wow. Really? Good way to chase people away from the establishment. At that point, we all said we would have lunch there, and took a seat outside. It was a little better after that – the staff inside was nice and the steamed shrimp hubby and I ordered was pretty good, and I was told by the others who ordered burgers that they were good. Prices were average for what we got. $10 for the steamed shrimp. It was kind of a windy day so the beach was not that inviting, the water was really choppy and brown in color. And after the greeting we initially had, we basically ate our food and took off. Could have been a better experience all the way around.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LuvScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Grub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Friendly staff, god food, quick service, lovely setting. Perfect place for a spot of high quality pub grub. Will come agian and again. Best Sunday lunch in town IMHO.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adskikavitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“NOT for Foodies but . . .the Gulf Shore is a dream”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had a nice time having a drink at the bar and meeting some of the regulars and the wait staff, and on a sunny day eating outside with kids on the beach could be fun. Still, the fish and chips were more like fish sticks and reheated fries and the barbecued shrimp with bacon (if you could find the bacon) was overwhelmed by the BBQ sauce. Only the onion rings passed the test but not if you like them lightly battered. . . .these were heavily and hard batter fried . . . .still, they tasted really good with the spicy mayo. There are several better choices for food on Sanibel but the advantage here is the Gulf Shore -- the sand, the breeze, and all that great beach stuff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vinnyandbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mucky Duck also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Mucky Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing