We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing mucky about it; clearly delicious!”
Review of The Mucky Duck

The Mucky Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nothing mucky about it; clearly delicious!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This place was recommended by a friend. We had lunch here and it was quite tasty! The Maryland style crab cake sandwich was amazing! My husband had the captiva sandwich and it was delicious, as well. The atmosphere is very laid back and the restaurant sits on the beach! Worth the trip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scobsnrn95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    909
    920
    479
    204
    125
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The food was just ok--nothing to write home about. My kids loved it here and asked to go back a few times!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoreMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greencastle iIndiana, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but decent”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We ate at the Mucky Duck on our fifth night on Sanibel. The food was just average compared to other tourist destinations on the island. Each dish/entrée is several dollars more expensive per than similar fare elsewhere ($8 for 4 bbq shrimp as an appetizer... 6 fried shrimp and fries for $20, Kids meal for $9). All of the food shared by my party of 6 was good, but we all felt it was overpriced for the portion size. For example, my fried shrimp and fries at Rosie's included 12 shrimp and was only $17 for a better, more-filling meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madcityhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, NJ
Level Contributor
131 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Loved the location of this place, I mean, right on the water, so pretty. Food was fast, good and reasonable. I had shrimp wrapped in bacon, come on, it doesn't get much better than shrimp and bacon!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sondra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Hills, OH
Level Contributor
105 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Surprisingly "Gourmet"”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were fortunate to get our snapper and swordfish meals before the lights went out in a storm. The food was wonderful, but they couldn't get the generator to work and oddly didn't have any lanterns/flashlights in a hurricane-prone area. We missed having dessert, but the view, location and good food was worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NKODIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mucky Duck also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Mucky Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing