We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long drive to the end of Captiva for lunch”

The Bubble Room Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
95 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A long drive to the end of Captiva for lunch”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We drove from Naples to Sanibel Island to Captiva Island as a road trip with my Sister-in-law and Mother. Friends had told us to have lunch at the The Bubble Room. They said the food was fabulous and the desserts were "out of this world". We had the seafood chowder, the Mahi Mahi lunch which included beans and rice, and a burger. The chowder was very good, the Mahi Mahi was ok and the burger was cooked medium-well although I ordered medium. Portions were good-sized, no sides with the burger but you could order their homemade chips. The server was friendly and good. The dessert tray was full of 4 inch slices of cake and we saw many people taking a piece of cake home. We ordered key lime pie and shared it three-ways. It was very good. I am not sure I would drive all this way for this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWoman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,367
    1,009
    601
    283
    239
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“You have to try the bubble bread!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is without a doubt the best restaurant ever - I love it :) The food is fantastic - the bubble bread is a masterpiece, the portions are huge, the steaks are AMAZING (try the Tarzan or Jane cut, or Dem Bones Dem Bones). The puddings are enormous. The staff (or should I say Bubble Scouts) are exceptional.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cute little place”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The food was good, but this is more keyed to kids than adults. We had a passable gumbo and of course the huge dessert cakes all seem to be popular (for good reason)!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mejehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stop for the cake and loaded Carolina Moons.”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Made our annual trip to Fort Myers area and it would not be complete without a trip to the Bubble room for cake and loaded Carolina Moons. Plenty of cheese and bacon on the moons as always. Then 2 pieces of cake to share for me, wife and 2 kids, Should have gotten another piece to go as the cake was even better than usual.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ziggy53711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winona, Minnesota
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Smelly and gross”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We went for just the desserts. I was warned by others to stay away, but since it was my birthday I thought I should check it out. Everyone was right about the smell being very musty. Reminded me of an old persons home who is a pack rat. The hostess was completely rude. It just felt gross and dirty. Carpet needs replacing. Kids liked to look around but I couldn't wait to get out. $9 for cake was steep. It's good, but not that good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pak6669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bubble Room Restaurant also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Bubble Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing