We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Place”

The Bubble Room Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a very unique place.  It reminds me of a creepy haunted house at Halloween Horror Nights.  It is filled with toys and photos from the 40’s and 50’s.  You have to spend a few minutes wondering around.  Something about those dolls with the plastic faces gives me the creeps.  But the service decent and the food was good.  I loved the “Carolina Moons”, homemade chips with bacon and cheese.  The homemade cakes looked good too but we were too stuffed to try any of them.   We did have to wait a bit for a table and then I was little disappointed when I went exploring and found a whole floor of empty tables.  But what do I know about running a restaurant?  I think you have to try this place once just to experience it.  But I don’t know if I would go back.  I think I watched too many horror movies as a kid that were in a similar setting.  I just can’t get passed that.  But that is no reflection on the food or service.  That is just my crazy mind. 

 

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mako2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,398
    1,022
    610
    286
    245
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Florida, United States
1 review
“Returned after 30 years”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife & I returned after 30 years. Last time we were here we were dating. We were a little apprehensive. We read a number of mixed reviews. I am happy to report that the BR still has its charm & the food & service is still great. In fact were going back for dinner tonight. Going to try some bubble bread this time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eclectic, You Bet Cha'”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

One of the most refreshing, enjoyable restaurants you will ever visit. Imagine a christmas toy store mixed with a dessert bakery, wrapped up in a scout meeting, serving good food. Then you will be close to imagining the experience. The food was enjoyable, the dessert is unbelievable. Anyone visiting and not having a slice of the Orange Crunch Cake is missing a fantastic opportunity to taste Heaven.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The place is small and FULL of stuff. Just random things. Like someone that had a tons of old toys/antiques started a restaurant. I personally did not like the food. Pretty pricey for what we were getting. Food was heavy. Desserts were very large. We had the butterfinger ice cream pie & the red velvet cake. Neither were outstanding. Just average in taste, but huge in size.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jusfloatinround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brady, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“island lunch”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

we loved the ambiance and the food and service was great .we had a lot of fun looking at all the memorabilia. We made it our favorite food spot.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pfkaupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bubble Room Restaurant also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Bubble Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing