We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must at least once!”

The Bubble Room Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Takeout
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A must at least once!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Bubble Room is iconic for sure and it packs them in! It's a place that needs to be seen for its nostalgic-packed-to-the-rafters kitsch and "decor." I can't imagine coming here for the food since there isn't anything memorable about it except for the off-putting portions. However, its bakery and its cakes are outstanding, and we always use it for take-out at least a couple times during our three week stay on Captiva. (One piece is more than enough for two people.) If you have children and/or grandchildren, you owe it to them to take them here for lunch or dinner. It's kind of more fun taking them here at night, since all the lights, signs, moving toy trains, etc. lend themselves to the funhouse atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,398
    1,022
    610
    286
    245
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dressing the waiters like Boy Scouts does not make them happy.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place is pretty interesting looking with crazy, multicolored decor. In March when we visited it was very crowded, loud and hectic. The food was on the expensive side and pretty ordinary.
The bartenders and waiters were mature men who had to dress in a take off on Boy Scout Uniforms. I think they all felt stupid dressed like that and weren't very friendly. The portions were too large and the cakes were enormous and not exceptionally good.
I think Children would enjoy the decor and hysteria of the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun, Bubbly Restaurant with Great Desserts!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The food is good (a little over-priced) and the service is excellent! This is a must-do restaurant if you have children...Every day is Christmas! The desserts are the signature of the Bubble Room, where each piece of cake served is enough to be shared by 3 people! It is a Very unique restaurant with a fun, playful theme.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere & huge portions!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This restaurant has great waitstaff, huge portions and outstanding desserts. The only drawback is when you get the check!! I really believe its worth it for the entertainment value. The desserts are perfect to share with everyone at the table!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellBoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisago City, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food was better than my expectations, cake was phenomenal”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our first stop at the Bubble Room after many years visiting Sanibel. We went at 2:00 on a Thursday and got seated immediately. (They close between 3:00 and 4:30 according to our server). The decor is very unusual, movie star photos on all the walls, Christmas lights (year around), all the tables are glass top with a variety of stuff in each. Aquariums at some tables.

My wife and daughter split the 1/2 lb hamburger and said it was very good. I had the double bubble ham burger. It was very good. The bun was one of the best hamburger buns I can remember and the burger itself was very tasty. It was served with fresh made kettle chips.

The dessert cakes were outstanding. We ordered 3 varieties "French chocolate Torte", "Very Moist Chocolate" and the "Orange Crunch". Portion sizes are huge and could easily be split 2 or 3 ways. (Or order your favorite and take the rest with you.)

Since we were there very late during the lunch service, some of the selections were not available, so some people in the restaurant were disappointed they didn't get their dessert selection.

We will definitely go back next time we're on the island. I'm sorry we waited so many years to go.

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bubble Room Restaurant also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Bubble Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing