We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Program for Kids Visiting Captiva” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanibel Sea School Day Program - CLOSED

Sanibel Sea School Day Program
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Program for Kids Visiting Captiva”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Our 8 & 10 year olds loved their day with the Sanibel Sea School at South Seas Resort on Captiva Island. The instructors were extremely knowledgable and great keeping the kids engaged. Days later we are still hearing stories of their day at the program.

The program generally offers a morning and afternoon program each day where kids can attend one or both with an option to stay with the school for lunch. This is a great opportunity for the kids and the potential for parents to have some parent time...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason_usa36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanibel Island, Florida
2 reviews
“Sanibel Sea School Moring Lecture Program: Ocean Discoveries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was a 10-week adult course that met once a week starting at the end of January and covered the following topics: (i) The Wrack Line and Our Intertidal Community; (ii) Fighting Conchs - The Feisty Little Guys; (iii) Pelicans - Her Beak holds more than Her Belly Can; (iv) Fish, Fish, Fish; (v) Frigate Birds; (vi) Black Skimmers - One of our Hidden Jewels; (vii) Lightning Whelks and Those Crazy Egg Cases; (viii) Sand Dollars - A Curious Animal; (ix) Seagrasses and Seagrass Beds; and (x) Our Estuary - More than a Drive-over.

The course was led by Bruce Neill, a marine biologist and oceanographer. It was excellent and combined classroom colloquy with beachfront hands on learning. Incredibly rich subject matter and Bruce did a wonderful job making the program interesting and informative.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Children loved it and learned a lot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

My son (7) and daughter (5) attended classes while we were on vacation on Captiva last week. They both loved them, and we were amazed at how effective the instructors were at teaching a broad age range of children. Both children learned a ton, and my son said it was his favorite vacation activity. (When you're competing with two giant water slides right next door, that says a LOT! We are planning to go back next year. The price seemed high to me at first, but was worth it when I saw what they'd learned.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elyse727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Engaging Program for Kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Our boys (6 & 10) enjoyed three different half-day 'camps' between them. They had great experiences every time. The instructors were engaging, friendly, and made the kids feel genuinely liked. They shared their knowledge with the kids in a variety ways so that it's both fun and memorable. The sessions really utilize the resort 'campus' to get the kids up close with what they're learning about. Best of all, the kids get to meet each other, so when they see each other at the pool, beach, etc, they have new friends to play with! If we were to return to the resort, the boys would eagerly attend more sessions at Sanibel Sea School. It was money well spent.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cowsonarockyhillside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Spring break Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My eight year old loved Sea School's activities while we stayed at South Seas (Captiva) for spring break. She explored the island, enjoyed numerous wildlife sightings, and learned a great deal about the local environment. We were delighted that she enjoyed it so much!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashbowen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sanibel Sea School Day Program also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing