We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captiva mainstay”
Review of The Mucky Duck

The Mucky Duck
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Captiva mainstay”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Casual indoor and outdoor dining. Beach view. Long time favorite of the area. Will visit again. Busy in the late afternoon till late. Highly recommend this establishment.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kman4cape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    39
    8
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is one of the few places you can eat outside by the water. The prices were high but not as high as many on Captiva. It isn't anything fancy (hotdogs, salads, wraps), but our lunch was good. We opted to sit outside rather than waiting for a table inside.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank indigo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Sucky Duck is more appropriate...”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

No parking, long waits, terrible food, rude staff, beer & wine only (and some "wine based" faux cocktails). Do yourself a favor and go somewhere else. Unless you enjoy people being rude to you and paying for crap food, then by all means have at it....

Helpful?
2 Thank NJ_Foodie0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, service with a attitude”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Luckily we got there right when they opened, they filled up fast! Our server and the outside bartender acted as though they were totally annoyed at having to be there. Aside from that, the food was good and reasonably priced.

Helpful?
1 Thank daschbrenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“'DUCKY as Can Be'”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Don't be unnerved by the crowds that flock like foul here or the fact that one cannot make advance reservations for supper within this laid back establishment on the North edge of Captiva Island at Sunset. While my husband and I waited for a table, the setting sun was in full view from a picture window. Hubby had Sweet and Sour Duck, while I had Catch of the Day Grouper, whole jumbo shrimp, tomato and herbs over angel hair pasta swimming in white wine combined with made from scratch chicken stock topped with fresh flaked Parmesan cheese and cracked black pepper. Our salads came with dried cranberry , toasted sweet pecans and creamy tomato tinged sweet dressing . We shared an enormous dessert of French Vanilla ice cream on a warm peanut fudge brownie surrounded by clouds of whipped cream. Sunset was clear and waitstaff far from transparent (They were genuine!!)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank joan7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mucky Duck also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Mucky Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing