We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go out of your way”
Review of The Pointe

The Pointe
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Flanders, NJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Don't go out of your way”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you're staying at South Seas and hanging out at the main pool (north end), it's almost a no-brainer to eat here, unless you bring your own. Food varies - some good, some not so good. Asian chicken salad, shrimp po boy and mahi sandwich not so bad. Service was better some of the days than others. Try to eat on 2nd floor porch as it's out of the direct sunlight and much more pleasant. They have pitchers of water with lemon for free refills all day whether you eat in the restaurant or just hang by the pool. Definitely a little pricier, however, again if you're staying at pool all day, it's pretty much you're only option and they know it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdsFlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    52
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great spot!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We enjoyed several poolside meals here and loved everything except for one bad flatbread goat cheese special that was horrible. But the location and service are fantastic! Drinks are also awesome.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank oasisannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not good”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Started with "nachos" that turned out to be a plate of broken Doritos. Wait staff was slow and didn't even refill water. After a long wait we got overcooked burgers. We complained to the waiter and were told that "the kitchen always cooks them that way." Even though it's pool-side we recommend that you avoid the Pointe.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nbgblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good lunch place”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Quick service and good lunch place food if you are staying on the property. If not staying at South Seas, not worth the trip

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank raymondleemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Okay service-amazing food”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Since the Pointe is poolside we decided to go there since we also wanted to swim. We ordered drinks and they were wrong. It took about 30 minutes for our food to come. The food was amazing. My dad asked our waiter for a coke and it never came so he asked someone else and it took 10 minutes. The food was super good though and it is a nice location.

Helpful?
Thank Ivyawesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pointe also viewed

Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing