We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach is OK if you can park . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Captiva Beach

Captiva Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beach is OK if you can park . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Captiva is a small exclusive island just of Sanibel - has two main beaches, one as you cross over onto it and one at the far end.

If you can get onto the beaches they are nice - the do fall off pretty quick and the times we were there the ocean can be a little rough. The challenge is - finding somewhere to park - the parking lot takes about 10 cars (maybe a little exaggeration but its small) and you don't stand much of a chance of parking - we ended up parking in the Sanibel side and walking over the bridge and we were lucky to get a space there.

Worth seeing, Captiva is worth the drive (its only one main road) to see how the other half live - the beaches are OK but not as good as Bowman beach on Sanibel or Fort Myers Beach - both of which are bigger, easier to get to and better to spend more time at. Bowman beach is just 10 minute drive away from this beach (you drive past it on the way to Captiva) and has lots of parking and great facilities for beach goers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    194
    57
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
142 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This may be a more beautiful place to visit when they are not draining Lake Ockeechobee into the ocean to totally destroy the vacations of others that came to see the pretty beaches. It was clearer here than Sanibel. The color was greenish with brown stuff floating in it. We did really enjoy the sunset though. That was the only plus. The meter said minimum $4 for 2 hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tamalePittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Got to agree with "Just Ok"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

As Florida natives my wife and I know lots of Florida beaches and unfortunately this one is really over rated. Like "Just Ok" said parking just isn't there UNLESS you drive a tic tac and you get there early early early. The secret to parking is just up the road, lets say you can "Bank" on it. If you really want a GREAT beach hit up Lovers Key, less people, much more shells, better parking . . .same amount of sun . . .hahahaha. Parking is still $2.00 minimum for the first hour anywhere but you're better off stopping BEFORE you get to Captiva at one of the other beaches. Just suggestions from real beach goer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We used to travel to Sanibel and Captiva all the time but it's been many years since we've visited. We were amazed to see how much errosion there has been. The shelling has really declined. It's $6 to get over the causeway and there's VERY LIMITED parking. It's better to just stop by the causeway and swim there as you'll have more room and can park nearby. Parking at the beaches is $2 per hour and they monitor it closely. The causeway was a lot nicer and we were able to castnet for pin fish for fishing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bchcomber49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Tabor, VT
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Quiet, clean, great shelling. This is a relaxing, safe area for families. Nobody selling anything, no weirdos. There is nothing bad that can be said about Captiva Beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1Tricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captiva Beach also viewed

Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sanibel Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Captiva Island, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Captiva Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing