We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Captiva Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just spent our 22nd anniversary in cottage #8 and I can't imagine staying anywhere else on Captiva. We loved the privacy and the immaculate accommodations. Being such animal/wildlife lovers we both ageed the quality time we had with the manatees was the highlight of our stay. The Jensen's were also unbelievably kind to us when my husband got "lost at sea" in his boat. Please stay at this beautiful space!,

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lovinlondon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
49
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place was great! We could walk to the village easily for food and beach access. There was a nice beachy/dock area at the marina with palapas and chairs in sun or shade. Best of all were the ever present manatees who seem to live at the marina all the time. So fun! the accommodations were very adequate, inside and out. If you are looking for service and amenities, this is not the place for you. They completely leave you alone unless you request help. No bothersome maid knocking, ever.

Room Tip: request a room with a covered porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We LOVED this place. From the moment we checked in we were treated so warmly. Everyone was very helpful and accommodating. We were really made to feel welcome. It's a charming little place. The cottages are clean and inviting and have all you need. We stayed in cottage number two - and it has a great screened in porch with a nice picnic table and two chairs. Our friends stayed in # 11 and it was awesome too. We were able to park our boat at the marina every night and they helped us find room for our trailer. We tried to go to Tween Waters for lunch by boat and were treated so rudely and that has happened several times before. We will not even consider Tween Waters next time. We'll stay here or try Jensen's on the Gulf. They have got the right attitude! We loved our stay:)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarion, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is a WONDERUL little marina on Captiva Island, and we loved staying here. While we weren't there to fish, we loved the atmosphere, the view.........the feeling :) We stayed in the cottage closest to the street. It's is an open floor design with kitchen, bedroom, living room all in one, with a separate bathroom. The cottage was small, but very clean. The Jensen brothers are VERY nice people. We loved watching the manatees, who were at the marina most of the time. The cottages were a very short walk to the island store and numerous restaurants. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monet3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We've stayed here and also just rented boats for the day, many times over the last 15yrs and it's always the same great, helpful service. The area is fantastic as are the brothers who run this place. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedon, New York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is not a review of the accommodations but rather the property and owner/staff.
My daughter and her husband own a home in Sunset Captiva and as such are just across the street from this Jensen's site (the other Jensen site is Gulf side).
We have gone over to Jensen's a lot of times during the past 3 years. One of the neat things is to go over there to see the aquatic life (late afternoon for the manatees) up close and personal. About once a month (I'm told) some of the locals gather at Jensen's to play some good old and not so old music. Gotta tell you that when we saw them they put on a great performance.
This past Christmas (I believe it was 12/14/13)we were at Captiva and they held their traditional flotilla of various boats (sail, motorized, etc) decorated for the Christmas season. This is a contest for whoever enters with prizes awarded at the conclusion.
The boats/mini ships (very large, large and small) were beautifully decorated with some playing Christmas tunes or just singing Christmas carols. It truly was a sight to see especially for someone who has never seen such a display.
The parade cruised directly in front of Jensen's (on the bay) down towards Tween waters.
If you are in the area during the Christmas time frame I would put this event on the "to do list" for sure.
Now back to the hospitality of the Jensen's. They aren't like some other property owners in resort areas as they don't post threatening signs saying that "if caught trespassing you'll be fed to the sea creatures or worse". Instead they welcome your visit with a warm greeting and a smile.
We plan on using their cottage's next Christmas as our daughter's home will be packed and we will need to seek alternate shelter and I could not think of a better place to stay.
Keep up the super hospitality and occasional music fests.

Room Tip: They all appear to be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

If you are looking for a laid-back vacation on Captiva, then Jensen's cottages (marina on Pine Island Sound) are the way go go. Sure, you could spend more, depending on season, for something at Tween Waters or South Seas, and you could have fancier things awaiting you, OR you could have a very nice cottage waiting you and just walk outside your cottage and viola! You could watch the manatees and green herons, go rent a boat, or walk right into the village. You can enjoy everything within the village. Park your car in front of your cottage when you get there and that's it. Explore everything from there - it's such a lovely place, and you'll appreciate being able to come right back to your cottage whenever you please. If you're here to fish, you'll love the little "Fishing Museum" on site. I recommend booking a trip during the weekends after Thanksgiving through the New Year so you can enjoy some of the fun holiday events that Captiva puts on each year. It's always great fun, and it's even more fun if you don't have to leave the island. Jensen's is a great spot to sit and watch the boat parade, too.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoWheelsOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Captiva Island
0.8 mi away
Tween Waters Inn Island Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
0.3 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
2.8 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina

Property: Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina
Address: 15107 Captiva Dr, Captiva Island, FL 33924-6017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Captiva Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Captiva Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages and Marina, Captiva's Boating & Fishing Headquarters, offers some of the most affordable accommodations on exclusive Captiva Island. Family owned and operated for nearly 40 years - our family & staff want to do all we can to make your stay the best. Our historical bayside marina setting offers you the choice of charming cottages and apartment suites. Each accommodation has a complete kitchen. The best location, directly on the waters of Pine Island Sound, closest to outer islands and steps from great restaurants, shops, galleries and the Gulf of Mexico's shell strewn beach. Family friendly, safe, like stepping back to a simpler, more innocent, time. Enjoy spectacular sunrises and evening stargazing, great fishing, boat rentals, bait and tackle, water taxi services, charter guide referrals, boat rides, manatee watching - or simply chillin on the beach. True Captiva - true peace & relaxation. You may also want to check out our Beach Resort ~ Jensen's "On The Gulf". Captiva's only boutique resort directly on the beach. Casual chic - on your own peace - True Captiva... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jensen`s Twin Palm Cottages And Marina Hotel Captiva Island
Jensen's Twin Palm Cottages And Marina Captiva Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing